Lest we forget…Anzac Day 2014

April 25th is Anzac Day, the anniversary of the Gallipoli landing during WWI in 1915. Anzac day is a day of commemoration and reflection, when Australians and New Zealanders remember all who served and died in war and conflict. The spirit of the Anzac and the qualities of courage, mateship, and sacrifice, continues to have much meaning to Australians and each year the attendance at Anzac services across the nation increases.

My Grandfather Charlie fought in WWII, as children we listened to his stories and laughed at his adventures although many I cannot recall. I can remember he and my Nanna coming to Australia for the Sydney Anzac Day march when we were children, it was the only time that he came to Australia and we were so proud to see our Grandfather (on television) marching. My Grandfather passed away in the early nineties, the funeral was huge with many of his surviving army buddies in attendance and his coffin covered in poppies. Today I remember him and all those who fought to preserve our freedom.

Lest we forget.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

Written by Laurence Binyon (1869–1943)

6 thoughts on “Lest we forget…Anzac Day 2014

  1. I didn’t go to a dawn service but watched the one from Gallipoli on TV – very moving. Apparently there were about 60,000 people at Melbourne’s service at the Shrine, so it definitely still remains relevant & part of of heritage. Thanks for sharing the photos – what lovely memories to have.

    • You’re welcome, I had forgotten that I even had those photos and when I discovered them thought that today is the perfect day for sharing. My husband went to a local dawn service, I wasn’t feeling great last night so he let me sleep in and we watched some of the services from around Australia. Such a special day.

  2. Those words from Binyon are so beautiful, Sam.
    Sorry to hear about Maxi. I just spotted it scrolling back. Hope you’ve got treatment sorted out now. And ending on a happy note, I loved your Easter tree :)

    • Those words are firmly etched on every Australians heart, it is very moving to hear them spoken at a ceremony on Anzac Day. Maxi is doing really well now, I will have to check in with our regular vet to find out where we go from here but she is home and back to her relatively normal dotty self :-)
      Happy travels Jo and thanks for stopping by.

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

