Colourful Spring flowers

Spring is here, we have had a long and cold winter (for Queensland) and the drab colours are disappearing behind the blossoms of magnolias, jasmine, grevilleas, hippeastrums and mandevillas. Storm clouds have been coming and going for a couple of weeks, bringing with them much needed rain and the occasional and undesired hail stone. The grass is lush and green again, it is soft to sit on and the dogs just love rolling on it and having a nibble.

Bundy the dog out for a walk
Bundy out for a walk

This afternoon I took Bundy (black dog no.2) for a walk around a large duck pond, there were kids using a nearby skate ramp and cricket training was underway at the adjacent oval. The birdlife is a mix of brown ducks, pukekos, herons, peewees, willy wagtails and sulphur-crested cockatoos, I often take my camera  with me but can rarely get close enough to get a good shot – perhaps going for a walk sans-dog would help. Today I had my iphone with me, the retro camera app has some nice effects so I took the opportunity to photograph the different flowers blooming and continued taking more shots at home.

Grevillea flowers
Grevillea flowers
Bottlebrush
Bottlebrush
Unknown plant growing in the shallow water
Unknown plant growing in the shallow water

Yellow flowers

Lilypads
Lilypads
Blue Heron taking off across the pond
Very hard to spot Blue Heron taking off across the pond
Blue Heron flying across the pond
Blue Heron flying across the pond
Hippeastrums growing on the edge of the pond
Hippeastrums growing on the edge of the pond

…and here is a selection of some of the flowers growing in our backyard. Not the most exciting story or selection of photos but I do have a penchant for pretty things and Spring is the perfect time for me to indulge.

Star Jasmine
Star Jasmine
Geraniums
Geraniums
Pale pink Begonias
Pale pink Begonias
5 thoughts on “Colourful Spring flowers

  1. megtraveling October 20, 2011 / 1:15 am

    Thank you for posting photos of your beautiful flowers. It’s early fall for me, so I really enjoy seeing the bright colors and greenery!

    • twoblackdoggies October 20, 2011 / 10:26 am

      You’re welcome, Spring is such a beautiful time of year and I go nuts photographing flowers. I love the colours of Autumn as well but because I live in a slightly tropical area we don’t get to see the change of seasons unless we head south.

  2. rumpydog October 20, 2011 / 11:33 am

    I love the pics! I also love your pics of your dogs! woo woo woo!

    • twoblackdoggies October 20, 2011 / 5:09 pm

      Thank you! I have hundreds of photos of my two black dogs, thousands even 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

