Christchurch earthquake recovery | Shipping container mall opens

Christchurch earthquake recovery | Shipping container mall opens.

I love this! Christchurch has set up a shopping mall using shipping containers in an effort to encourage visitors to return to the city after it was brought to its knees in February as the result of a major earthquake.  There is still accommodation available although the number of beds has halved since the earthquake and locals can take the opportunity to say goodbye by participating in red zone tours.

Christchurch has always been a wonderful place to visit, I’m looking forward to going back, doing a bit of shopping to show my support and to see how the rebuilding has progressed.

3 thoughts on “Christchurch earthquake recovery | Shipping container mall opens

  1. akiwiinlondon November 10, 2011 / 4:23 am

    Thank you so much for pointing this out! I hadn’t heard anything about it – I think it’s a wonderful way to get the CBD up and running again 🙂

    Hope you don’t mind, but I was so excited to read about this, that I had to blog about it myself! (I linked you in though!)

    • twoblackdoggies November 10, 2011 / 8:27 am

      You’re welcome and I don’t mind at all! Time for people to start visiting this wonderful city again – myself included 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

