The artist within

This year I promised myself that there would be no study of boring, work related subjects and plenty of time to draw, paint and take photographs. When I was in school I was always drawing, with charcoal, pen or pencils and it was fun but then I went to Uni and started working and my love for art only extended as far as visiting art exhibitions and taking the occasional photograph. Thanks to my Mum and the joy of gift vouchers I have participated in art classes on and off since 2000, the classes have helped me rebuild confidence in my ability to draw and there is always something to learn in terms of technique and using different mediums.

Now I attend Tuesday night classes, a couple of hours of doing my own thing and when I need assistance or guidance there is always someone to provide it. For four weeks my focus has been on ‘relearning’ how to use pastels by copying a painting from an art book, the paper I used wasn’t ideal, but I’m quite happy with the result – would like to know what you think, constructive criticism is welcome!

Pastel illustration of a cow in the field
Pastel illustration of a cow in the field

My art teacher has recommended taking additional pastel classes with an Australian Master Pastellist, she lives locally so I have signed up to spend a term learning from her. I’ll still go to my Tuesday night class, they’re very relaxing, therapeutic even and I can always use the time to apply what I have learned from the pastel classes. With so much energy and time devoted to art this year, perhaps all my family will receive original artwork this Christmas.

Cheers and have a great week!

16 thoughts on “The artist within

  1. emmahevezi March 18, 2012 / 7:30 pm

    i think that this drawing or pastel art is amazing you have some real talent there πŸ™‚ keep drawing as i look forward to more designs of the countryside, living in the city i have no ability to view these country scenes πŸ™‚
    keep smiling

    • twoblackdoggies March 18, 2012 / 8:50 pm

      Thank you! The countryside is inspiring and I’m sure that there will be more scenes to come πŸ™‚

  2. nonoymanga March 18, 2012 / 10:23 pm

    Bring More, this one is Awesome. Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

  3. megtraveling March 18, 2012 / 11:40 pm

    You did a great job with this picture. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work…!

    • twoblackdoggies March 19, 2012 / 7:29 am

      Thank you, am thinking of doing some illustrations from our travels and combine two things I love πŸ™‚

  4. Paws To Talk March 19, 2012 / 12:11 am

    We want to frolic in this field and then play with the cow. It looks like a fun place to be.
    Bella and DiDi

  5. AirportsMadeSimple March 19, 2012 / 5:30 am

    I think your drawing is excellent! I wish I could do that…keep up the good work, and know you’re very talented.

    • twoblackdoggies March 19, 2012 / 7:32 am

      Thank you, I’m so happy to be drawing again and glad people like my cow πŸ™‚

  6. kareninhonolulu March 22, 2012 / 10:22 am

    I just love the colors. I would love it if I could photograph a beautiful scene and then have the ability to use art to take out all the unwanted elements such as light poles etc.

    What a wonderful thing for your mother to do.

    • twoblackdoggies March 22, 2012 / 4:01 pm

      Thank you, it took me a long time to get comfortable with using colour, I always illustrated with pencil or charcoal in school. My Mum has always been very supportive of my artwork, I feel very lucky πŸ™‚

  7. akiwiinlondon April 1, 2012 / 2:15 am

    Wow! I think that sums it up pretty well πŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

