Poor Lennox….still waiting

For those of you following the fate of Lennox the American Bulldog Labrador cross in the UK, I found the latest update on the Save Lennox facebook page. I’m sad to say that the poor boy is still stuck in the pound courtesy of the Belfast City Council, locked away from his family for 2 years and they have no idea what condition he is in or how he is coping with the ongoing containment.

If you love dogs and believe that BSL is an abomination please check out the ‘Save Lennox‘ website and show your support, you can also follow campaign updates on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/savelennox or Facebook: The Lennox Campaign.

LATEST NEWS – as reported on the Save Lennox Facebook page

Although Friday 20th was not an appeal hearing as some had wrongly reported it was however the day on which Northern Ireland courts set aside a small amount of time for May 24th so that the Lennox case can be again stated before court. On May 24th both legal teams are scheduled to put forward their evidence in a brief hearing to allow the Northern Ireland courts service to make a decision whether Lennox’s case should be allowed to further progress. Any further updates will be available in the coming weeks from the official Save Lennox Campaign website.

www.savelennox.co.uk

6 thoughts on “Poor Lennox….still waiting

  1. rumpydog April 22, 2012 / 10:54 pm

    It appalls me that this continues in this way. Are they just so intent that the dog die that they’d rather wait out the family rather than let the dog go?

    And honestly, what shape could the dog possibly be in after being confined in this way for SO long?

    • twoblackdoggies April 23, 2012 / 12:46 pm

      I feel exactly the same, they should be charged for inflicting cruelty on Lennox, even murderers in prison are allowed to see their families but the BCC just don’t seem to care.

  2. Paws To Talk April 23, 2012 / 8:18 am

    Thanks for the update! We hope he gets free.
    Bella and DiDi

    • twoblackdoggies April 23, 2012 / 12:47 pm

      You’re welcome. I hope they give him back to his family but who knows how long it would take them to reverse the physical and mental damage that they have inflicted on him.

  3. kareninhonolulu April 24, 2012 / 11:19 am

    It’s too bad that a campaign like the one the internet forge when the government was going to sensor the internet can’t be put into effect for this poor animal. Somthing that affects Ireland would be the only thing that would help this poor animal. I cant read anymore about him, Please put a big header so I don’t open it.

    It’s like those sad SPCA commercials with the singer and showing those horribly sad photos of the dogs. I just cry and cry. If I can’t help I only feel more miserable. I did send a letter last time. But I think it is useles. Unless you can hit them in the pocket book, nothing can be done. Cesar Millan would need to bring it to light on his show but that aint going to happen. Sad, sad, sad.

    • twoblackdoggies April 24, 2012 / 2:31 pm

      I’m so sorry that my post upset you, it is a really horrible situation which too few people worry or care about because they don’t like dogs or they think all bull breeds should be destroyed. It is why I don’t think any major action from any government will happen.

      Like you, I end up in tears reading some of the horrible stories of animal cruelty, so much so that I’ve had to distance myself from some facebook pages and websites. I try to focus on the good stories and good work that people are doing to help dogs, such as Kate and Aleksandra from Twenty-six to life and Love and a Six Foot Leash (there are a few more), they give me faith in the human race and it is hard not to learn from their experiences or fall in love with their dogs.

      Lennox’s story is one I’ve been following for too long to not share the updates, hopefully the more people that read about it the more people will rethink their position on BSL and the fates of our most loyal friends. Please feel free to delete or ignore my Lennox posts and associated emails, I won’t be offended because I know how you feel.

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

