Crazy dog lady and her camera

My husband gave me the nick-name of ‘crazy dog lady’ several years ago when I was lying on the living room floor surrounded by our dear Maxi dog and two foster puppies, one of whom is now our boy Bundy. I have always loved animals, but never thought of myself as a dog person until we got Maxi, from then on I became slightly obsessed with dogs and the obsession reached a peak with the adoption of Bundy. We now have dog themed calendars, notepads, artwork, stuffed toys, photo frames and I spend alot of time reading dog blogs, sharing stories of dogs on Facebook, talking dogs with other dog lovers and walking dogs at our local animal shelter.

Bundy and Maxi are pretty used to me taking photos of their every waking (and sleeping) moment, Bundy can switch between completely ignoring me or cooperating completely depending on what his focus is at the time – me or a ball/bird/rat/treat. Maxi has the innate ability to be able to identify a phone camera, whether I have my DSLR, point and shoot camera or iphone she turns her head away from the camera as soon as I take the photo. Photographing Maxi has to involve treats or the beach, both make her incredibly happy and easier to photograph.

I took these photographs last year and am quite happy with the result, Bundy and Maxi had their props, soccer ball and treat which helped take the focus of me holding a camera. The post-processing in Lightroom makes them look less like an every day photo and more like a piece of art, at least they look like that to me but I know that it isn’t everyone’s ‘cup of tea’. One day soon I plan to get them printed on canvas, however I am also toying with the idea of recreating them using pastel or oil paint after seeing doggy portraits on Treats A La Bark.

Maxi the dog
Maxi
Bundy the dog
Bundy

Maxi the dog

Bundy the dog and soccer ball

Maxi the dog

Bundy the dog

18 thoughts on “Crazy dog lady and her camera

  1. This Sydney Life May 19, 2012 / 4:52 pm

    I, too am a converted ‘dog person’, 2BD. LM laughs at how I will cross the busiest street to pat a dog. I’m slightly obsessed, so I do understand… LOVE your pics. šŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies May 19, 2012 / 5:43 pm

      Thank you šŸ™‚ I too will cross the street and find something to do that will get me closer to a dog and the opportunity for a pat.

  2. Treats a la Bark May 19, 2012 / 6:38 pm

    Haha “crazy dog lady” is a term I hear all too often. One lady actually said to me and another colleague of mine “I am so sick of hearing you talking about your dogs!” Haha. Obviously she’s not crazy about dogs šŸ˜› But yes I take my camera out everywhere snapping shots of “street pups” and I can’t even go a day without taking at least 5 photos of Rufio haha. Your photos are beautiful! šŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies May 20, 2012 / 7:11 am

      I am so glad that I have some crazy dog lady friends and colleagues, but I do get the ‘oh you’re talking about dogs again’ comment regularly šŸ™‚

      Rufio is a gorgeous boy, can understand the desire to take photos every day and I’m happy that you like my photos of our two black dogs.

  3. imemine May 19, 2012 / 7:50 pm

    gorgeous….especially love the first portrait of maxi

    • twoblackdoggies May 20, 2012 / 6:24 am

      Thank you, that photo is a favourite of mine too šŸ™‚

  4. Bosun Dawg May 19, 2012 / 10:45 pm

    Beautiful dogs and photos. I enjoyed them immensely.

    • twoblackdoggies May 20, 2012 / 6:25 am

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a lovely comment, I’m glad you like the photos šŸ™‚

  5. kareninhonolulu May 20, 2012 / 4:18 am

    I don’t know if I’m obsessed with dogs. With my four, I will leave an event to get home and just sit with my dogs. I’ve been up since six in the morning reading about giving them diatomecious earth for all over health. I’ve been looking into dog thistle for liver health, I vacuum 6:30 in the morning to keep dog fur at bay then let them roll all over the clean carpet. When I take naps there is not enough room on the bed for me as they pile around and I can’t bear to leave them longer then 3 hours at a time unless someone is home with them.

    I’m truly an old lady. My dogs, books and British Mysteries are my life.

    My favorite photo is the second to the last. That is a classic “I love you look”.

    • twoblackdoggies May 20, 2012 / 6:34 am

      I think you’re obsessed or maybe just passionate and I love that you love your dogs so much šŸ™‚

      My husband is up early as well today and taking Bundy for a walk, Maxi is curled up on her bed and wrapped in an old pyjama shirt because it is getting cold and I have to buy her a new winter jacket.

      Old lady? Definitely not or perhaps that just makes us both old, I love my dogs, books and British mysteries and crime shows are among my favourite things in life.

      Thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you liked the photos, that second to last one was a lucky shot, she is my reluctant model.

  6. hutchagoodlife May 21, 2012 / 8:39 am

    Most people call our Mummy ‘the guinea pig girl’ because she loves piggies and even ran a guinea pig rescue campaign over valentines day!

    Whee think loving your pets is a sign youhave a big heart!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    • twoblackdoggies May 21, 2012 / 10:00 am

      Your Mummy sounds like a wonderful person and yes, I think loving your pets and all animals is a sign of a huge heart.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo and Buddy šŸ™‚

  7. Doggy's Style May 22, 2012 / 6:09 am

    I loved the last 2 pics. I’m walking the path to become obsessed with dogs, I’ve always been a dog lover, however, now my iphone is full with pics of my dogs and all his play dates. I created a blog just to not have my friends on facebook hate me for posting pics every other minute. Not everybody understands.

    • twoblackdoggies May 22, 2012 / 11:52 am

      Welcome to the dark side šŸ˜‰ I’ve actually told all my friends on facebook that I won’t be offended if they unsubscribe because they’re sick of me sharing lost dog notices and dogs looking for homes. It also means that they don’t have to be bothered by my travel obsession either šŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment, it is lovely to meet other dog lovers and the blogging community is pretty good at understanding and supporting our obsessions.

    • twoblackdoggies June 11, 2012 / 11:45 am

      Thank you, the dogs have to tolerate my obsession with photographing them on a regular basis. Thank you for the award, acknowledgement and appreciation from fellow bloggers always makes me smile šŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

