Charmed by Sorrento?

Sorrento was one of those places in Italy about which I remain undecided, did I love it or hate it or just merely like it? There was plenty to love: panoramic ocean views, fresh buffalo mozzarella, delicious (but overpriced) gelato, fresh seafood and spectacular sunsets but unlike my husband, I’m not fussed about returning in a hurry and would prefer to explore further south or inland. The time we spent there was wonderful, the old town is very touristy but it was pleasant wandering through all the cobblestone streets and exploring the little shops so am I being too harsh? Certainly the photographs paint a pretty picture 🙂

17 thoughts on “Charmed by Sorrento?

  1. megtraveling July 4, 2012 / 11:02 pm

    I was definitely charmed by Sorrento! I liked everything about it – the views, the food, the shopping. And your pictures are really beautiful! I’d like to go there again…

    • twoblackdoggies July 5, 2012 / 3:30 pm

      My Husband loved it and wanted to move there, and I would probably visit again but the town didn’t make me feel as though I never wanted to leave…unlike perennial favourite Venice and the small town of Bacharach in Germany or Orvieto and Vernazza. Glad you liked my pictures, it was easy to get some beautiful shots and we did get to see a few weddings as well 🙂

  2. restlessjo July 5, 2012 / 7:40 am

    Yes, I know what you mean. For me it wasn’t the place itself but the access it gave you to so many places so very easily. If I went back it would be to Minori or somewhere smaller, but then access would be more problematical.

    • twoblackdoggies July 5, 2012 / 3:26 pm

      It was perfect for a day trip to Capri and Pompeii and I would definitely recommend it as a good base for exploring, however I would like to go to one of the smaller towns on the Amalfi Coast but like you said, access does become more problematic.

  3. kareninhonolulu July 6, 2012 / 9:46 am

    The place is beautiful, but I know what you mean about being in a touristy area. I live in one. In fact it seems it is the only area that the state consistently takes care of. Waikiki! The beach is gorgeous there are nice hotels and restaurants and very nice landscape and a beautiful, gorgeous beach. But no parking.

    What does that say to you? Out side of Waikiki is the real Hawaii, those beaches are not that nice or clean. There is no place to play checkers or nice covered areas to sit. But unlike Italy that has pretty much kept it’s culture alive so that you can enjoy all the country, it is not so much here in Hawaii. Again, it’s in Waikiki.

    • twoblackdoggies July 6, 2012 / 1:34 pm

      There must be many cities or towns like Waikiki and I have to admit that when I went to Hawaii 20 years ago I enjoyed exploring Waikiki, it was so different to where I was living at the time. I always wished I had more time to see other parts of the island, but we were only there for 3 days so a bus trip around the island was all I could fit in, next time I would like to see the real Hawaii.

  4. akiwiinlondon July 10, 2012 / 6:53 am

    Very pretty pictures indeed – I really wanted to go to Sorrento when I first travelled round Italy, but never managed to get there. You’ve given me fresh inspiration 🙂

    Oh, I love the new (?) banner with your doggies 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies July 11, 2012 / 9:55 am

      Thank you, it is quite easy to get to and from Sorrento but I wouldn’t recommend driving unless you’re extremely confident – it made me very nervous and I was only a passenger in the car. I hope you get to see it, there are some amazing sights and the food is delicious especially the buffalo mozzarella and the seafood.

      I’m glad you like the banner, I uploaded some new photos and chose to make them ‘random’ so that they cycle through the different images. Getting a suitable photo of the two of them is quite a challenge but I’ll keep trying 🙂

      • akiwiinlondon July 11, 2012 / 9:22 pm

        Oh, I never drive in Europe (I’m under 25 so it’s really expensive) – but thanks for the warning 🙂

  5. Debra Kolkka July 10, 2012 / 7:25 am

    I love Sorrento. I lived near there in S’Agata many years ago and I return regularly to visit my ex relatives. I know it is touristy and a bit trashy, but I love it anyway. I think it is lively and fun and there are some gorgeous things there…Sedile Dominilo for instance…..and it is close to all the other delights the Amalfi Coast has to offer.

    • twoblackdoggies July 11, 2012 / 9:51 am

      Lively and fun, I think that is what my husband loved about Sorrento but he also loves being by the water and spending time on boats. The close proximity to such delights as Capri and the Amalfi Coast are what appeals to me, also the ease of accessing the ruins of Pompeii and Herculaneum also make it a good base for exploring the region. Perhaps I just need to spend more time there, give myself a chance to fall in love with the town.

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

