A (very) belated thank you

This post has been a long time coming, much has been happening in both my personal and working life resulting in sporadic blog posts and a lengthy delay in acknowledging awards that Two Black Dogs has received in the last couple of months.

I’ve given my response to these awards alot of thought and have decided to very loosely follow the rules mainly because my sphere of blogs is still quite small and I feel as though I just keep awarding the same blogs over and over again. You may have read Restlessjo’s post about her awards dilemma, that post is what inspired me to approach the blog awards differently, like Jo, I am time poor but I still want to be able to say thank you and recognise the efforts of other bloggers. It is not that the blogs I’ve nominated aren’t worthy of getting all the awards doing the rounds, but instead of nominating a set number of blogs for each award I’m going to nominate ten blogs that I haven’t nominated before and the recipients can choose which award (or perhaps all of them) they feel best represents them. In addition, I will be setting up an Awards page, on this I will feature all the awards that have been bestowed upon me as well as links to those who nominated me and my recipients, hopefully you will discover a new blog or several to love and cherish πŸ™‚

Thanking you…

First I would like to thank Fabulous Fur Friends for the Illuminating Blogger award, a blog devoted to the health and welfare of animals, highlighting the joys of pet ownership and in particular, the story of her beautiful dogs Rupert and April. I have received this award before, hence my laziness in redirecting you to that award post rather than repeating myself.

Illuminating Blogger Award

The two other awards I have received are the One Lovely Blog Award and the Very Inspiring Blog Award.

one lovely blog award very-inspiring-blogger award

For these awards I would like to thank the Margie from the delightful margieinitaly blog, Margie writes extensively about destinations and her travel experiences in Italy as well as featuring interesting news articles that you probably won’t see in the mainstream media. margieinitaly helps me get my ‘Italy fix’, mille grazie Margie!

The other nominations for these awards came from The Lanther and Tales of life with Cats and Dogs. Both of these blogs have feature photos of gorgeous black dogs and wonderful stories and I thank you both for nominating Two Black Dogs.

The Lanther is an amusing blog from the perspective of a dog called Boulu, there is sometimes a serious side to his posts but generally it is a fun read complete with entertaining videos featuring the Lanther (read how he got that nickname) Boulu. Thank you kindly for your nomination Lanther, it is much appreciated.

Tales of life with Cats and Dogs is a blog that looks at life with cats and dogs, Bosun Dawg explores the love, joy and heartbreak that comes with pet ownership, his heartfelt words and the poetry he often posts has the power to bring tears to my eyes. Thank you for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger and One Lovely Blog awards, the acknowledgement is mutual.

In return for receiving these awards I am supposed to tell you (in total) 9 things about myself, nominate 30 blogs and let those 30 blogs know that they have been nominated. Now, as I said before I’m going to follow these rules loosely so here are 3 things about me and 10 blogs that I’ve never nominated before but are nonetheless worthy of these awards.

3 things about me

  1. I love spending my Saturdays in my winter pyjamas, they are my favourite item of clothing.
  2. I believe that aating chocolate mud cake is ok anytime of day, even breakfast.
  3. Living in the Italian countryside or the south/south west of France for 12 months (at least) is my 5-10 year plan although I would pack my bags and go tomorrow if I could.

…and the Illuminating, Very Inspiring and One Lovely Blog awards go to:

  1. Dogs Inner City – because they share my love of dogs, food and photography
  2. Adventures of a Dog Mom – another blog that combine a love of food and dogs
  3. Bagni di Lucca and Beyond – A blog featuring the picturesque village of Bagni di Lucca in Italy and lots of lovely travel stories.
  4. Sharing My Italy – What is not to love if you are an Italophile like me?
  5. Doggy’s Style – the entertaining antics of a Spanish Water Dog
  6. Paws to Talk – Bella and DiDi give great advice to pooches and their humans all over the world
  7. 1001 Scribbles – travel and amazing photography that makes you see things from a different perspective.
  8. The Fuzzy Foto – If you love nature photography like I do, you will enjoy looking at the wonderful images on this blog
  9. Picturette – Awesome illustration and graphic design from an Australian artist
  10. Apartments I like – I love home decorating magazines as much as I love travel books and dog blogs, this site is fantastic for getting a little inspiration.

Thanks again for all the nominations and thank you to each and every one of you that take the time to visit my blog, like my posts and contribute to my comments, as any Australian would say on receipt of such recognition “I love youse all”.

Have a great weekend!

 

29 thoughts on “A (very) belated thank you

  1. Emily July 28, 2012 / 11:02 am

    Congrats on the awards and thanks for the shout out!

  2. Bosun Dawg July 28, 2012 / 2:46 pm

    Lovely post, and thank you for your kind words about Tales.

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2012 / 6:43 am

      You are most welcome and the feeling is mutual πŸ™‚

  3. restlessjo July 28, 2012 / 4:50 pm

    Nicely done Sam. I’ve missed you. Thanks a lot for the pingback. (aren’t we getting good- we had no idea about these things not so long ago! It’s been a great learning experience as well as everything else)

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2012 / 6:47 am

      It took a couple of hours to get that post together, I’ve learned much from the blogging community and you’ve got to love the support. Happy blogging πŸ™‚

  4. birdcagedesign July 28, 2012 / 5:01 pm

    Woo Hoo… congratulations… well deserved πŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2012 / 6:45 am

      Thank you, feel guilty for not having written this post sooner but better late than never πŸ™‚

  5. dogsinnercity July 28, 2012 / 8:56 pm

    Hi there Sam.and two black doggies…thank you very much for your nomination..we came home today to find a flurry of emails…we very much like your blog too..I have a very Italian connection having lived, worked and run a restaurant there in an old castle outside of Siena..love Italy and the language…we’re very new to blogging and to be honest not sure what to do next with these nominations and how they really work and what I need to do next…and congrats on yours…great work

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2012 / 5:03 pm

      You’re very welcome, I so love seeing dogs out and about with their owners and your blog captures it so well. I’m so jealous, Siena is such a wonderful town and although I cannot speak the language, listening to it makes me smile. You can do a search on the awards and find other blogs that follow the rules properly, the first time I got an award I was very excited but had to keep checking the blog that nominated me so I could figure out what to do next. The other option, is to not do anything and I won’t be offended – it can be a very time consuming process and many other bloggers choose to opt out of awards altogether.

      Have a great week πŸ™‚

      • dogsinnercity August 20, 2012 / 10:49 pm

        Just wanted to finally get back to you about this…we’ve been very busy but will definitely look into the awards and spend a bit of time doing something about that…..and thank you once again

      • twoblackdoggies August 21, 2012 / 11:22 am

        No pressure, it can be very time consuming πŸ™‚

  6. Debra Kolkka July 28, 2012 / 9:34 pm

    Thank you for nominating Bagni di Lucca and Beyond. I will check out the other blogs.

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2012 / 6:49 am

      You’re welcome, hope you find some you like πŸ™‚

  7. sharingmyitaly July 29, 2012 / 3:10 am

    Congrats for your very well deserved awards and thank you do much for sharing one or all with me. I intend to accept the Very Lovely blog award and I am honored to be in such a great company. I love your post and I might steal some ideas…Thank you again:)))!

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2012 / 6:50 am

      Thank you and you are very welcome, steal away πŸ™‚

  8. apartments i like July 29, 2012 / 4:34 am

    Thank you so much for the nomination and your kind description of my blog. I love yours also and always check in. Much appreciated. Have a great weekend!

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2012 / 4:56 pm

      You’re most welcome. I spend a small fortune on magazines so I really love that I can go to your blog and get some great ideas for free, now I just need to win lotto to put them all into action πŸ™‚

      Have a great week!

  9. raisingdaisy July 31, 2012 / 9:36 pm

    We share the three things you said about yourself in common – both my daughter and I share them with you, in fact! LOL Congrats on the awards! πŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies August 1, 2012 / 6:51 pm

      That is what I love about the blogging community, finding like minded souls to connect with and swapping stories is so much fun πŸ™‚

  10. Russel Ray Photos August 3, 2012 / 4:06 pm

    Yeah! Yahoo! Yippee! & Congratulations! Now I’m off to click on your nominee links.

    • twoblackdoggies August 6, 2012 / 2:22 pm

      Thank you so much for stopping by and I hope you find lots of new blogs to follow πŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

