A little bit of family history

Gottfried Lindauer's painting of Wharepapa as a young man
Gottfried Lindauer’s painting of Wharepapa as a young man
Source: http://www.lindaueronline.co.nz/maori-portraits/kamariera-te-hau-takiri-wharepapa

As a young girl my Grandfather used to tell us the story of our great, great, great Grandfather Kamariera Te Hau Takiri Wharepapa, the Maori Chief who went to England to meet Queen Victoria and married an English girl. A copy of the painting by Lindauer took pride of place on the wall of my grandparents living room, as children we used to argue over who would get the painting once my grandparents passed away, little did we know that copies would become easy to purchase in the years to come.

A young Wharepapa
A young Wharepapa
Source: National Library of Australia
Tutapuiti Hariata (wife of Pomare), Wharepapa and Pomare
Tutapuiti Hariata (wife of Pomare), Wharepapa and Pomare

Kamariera Wharepapa was born in 1823 and was one of fourteen Maori who sailed to England on the Ida Ziegler in 1863 to meet Queen Victoria, the trip was organised by William Jenkins, a preacher and former interpreter for the Nelson provincial government (source: http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/biographies/1p21/1). In addition to meeting the Queen, the group of Maori also met the Prince and Princess of Wales and were used by Jenkins to demostrate songs and dances while wearing traditional garments and ornaments.  While in England, Wharepapa met and married Elizabeth Ann Reid in St Anne’s Parish Church, Limehouse, London on March 31st, 1864. There are many paintings, illustrations and photographs of their experience in England including a copy of a letter that Wharepapa sent to family and friends in New Zealand.

Kamariera Te Hautakiri Wharepapa and Kihirini Te Tuahu
Kamariera Te Hautakiri Wharepapa (right) and Kihirini Te Tuahu (with tewhatewha) during their trip to London, 1863-1864. Photograph taken by Vernon Heath.
Source: Heath, Vernon, 1819?-1895. Kamariera Te Hautakiri Wharepapa and Kihirini Te Tuahu. Parsons, Patrick :Maori portraits. Ref: 1/2-058458-F. Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, New Zealand. http://beta.natlib.govt.nz/records/23031417
Illustrated London news: Native chiefs from New Zealand
Illustrated London news (Newspaper). Illustrated London news :Native chiefs from New Zealand. Mr W Jenkins, interpreter; Horomana Te Atua; Hapimana Ngapiko; Wharepapa; Pomare; Paratene Te Manu; Kihirini Te Tuahu; Takerie Ngawaka; Tere Te Iringa; Hariata Pomare, Reihana Taukawau; Hirini Pakia; Ngahuia; Wiremu Pou. [London, 1863]. Ref: PUBL-0033-1863-68. Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, New Zealand. http://beta.natlib.govt.nz/records/22896479
The New Zealand chiefs in Wesley’s House.
The New Zealand chiefs in Wesley’s House, 1863
Source: http://digital.otago.ac.nz/print.php?arguement=a11561&focus=Record&submit=GO
Letter from Wharepapa during his visit to England
Letter from Wharepapa during his visit to England
Source: http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/maori-overseas/1/3

The letter reads (Source: http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/maori-overseas/1/3):

‘We are losing health & strength. In my opinion, if we stay long, we must find out some devices for ourselves for these days. That is all, the trouble of this expedition can not be enumerated. You are the sister of the Bishop who loves New Zealand so well & you will declare to him our sentiments. Your goodness to the Maories who have visited you gives us light and gladness in our hearts & makes us bold to speak out the burden that is laid on us thro’ this our ill considered visit to England.’

The group of Maori who visited England
The group of Maori who visited England in 1863
Source: http://www.lindaueronline.co.nz/maori-portraits/kamariera-te-hau-takiri-wharepapa

Wharepapa and Elizabeth returned to New Zealand in 1864, the first of five daughters was born on the return trip, Mary Faith Wharepapa and the remaining daughters were born in Mangakahia where Wharepapa and Elizabeth settled upon their return. The other daughters were: Edith Harriet, Hora Eliza Anne (my great, great grandmother), Maria Josephine Hope and Huhana. Elizabeth tired of the lifestyle and eventually left and married Charkes Samuel Lakey.

Charles Fredrick Goldie is known for his portraits of New Zealand Maori chiefs (ariki) and women of rank (kuia). He painted two portraits of the aging Wharepapa and took several photographs of Wharepapa in his studio. Many believed that the Maori were a doomed race at that time and the tradition of chiseled ta moko and facial tattooing had ceased (source: http://www.nzterritory.com/famous/goldie.html). Critics of his work dismissed his paintings as documentation rather than art and objected to the way he depicted the Maori, however, many Maori see Goldie’s works as taonga (treasured thing) representing irreplaceable ancestral images of koroua (elderly man) and kuia (elderly woman) which, for Maori have special significance (source: http://tpo.tepapa.govt.nz/ViewTopicExhibitDetail.asp?TopicFileID=0x000a3dd1).

Painting of Kamariera Te Hau Takiri Wharepapa by Charles Fredrick Goldie
Painting of Kamariera Te Hau Takiri Wharepapa by Charles Fredrick Goldie
Kamariera Te Hau Takiri Wharepapa painted 1907
Kamariera Te Hau Takiri Wharepapa painted 1907
Wharepapa with Goldie in his studio
Wharepapa with Goldie in his studio
Source: http://www.aucklandartgallery.com/the-collection/browse-artwork/15449/goldie-with-kamariera-te-wharepapa
Kamariera Te Wharepapa with a visitor to Goldie's studio
Kamariera Te Wharepapa with a visitor to Goldie’s studio
Source: http://www.aucklandartgallery.com/the-collection/browse-artwork/15453/%5Bkamariera-te-wharepapa-with-a-visitor-to-goldie-s-studio-1-%5D
Wharepapa with Goldie holding patu
Wharepapa with Goldie holding patu
Source: http://www.aucklandartgallery.com/the-collection/browse-artwork/15445/%5Bgoldie-holding-patu-%5D
Kamariera Te Wharepapa with a visitor to Goldie's studio, possibly the actress Grace Palotta
Kamariera Te Wharepapa with a visitor to Goldie’s studio, possibly the actress Grace Palotta.
Source: http://www.aucklandartgallery.com/the-collection/browse-artwork/15456/kamariera-te-wharepapa-with-a-visitor-to-goldie-s-studio,-possibly-the-actress-grace-palotta

My first (and only) Wharepapa family reunion was held in the early 80s at a marae in Titoki, my Grandmother not being one for such events, left us with our Grandfather to spend two days and a night with hundreds of relations that we had never met before. I remember lots of food, there was plenty of traditional singing, dancing and storytelling and we met all of my Grandfather’s brothers and sisters, he was one of eleven. At that time you had to rely on the written word, family photographs and museum or gallery collections to understand our family history and writing a family tree (for a teenager) was a tedious job. The internet has made life so much easier, my Mum is amazed at the range of images that I have been able to gather and share with her, she bought a copy of Lindauer’s painting when we were kids and now she has much more.

Thank you to Tahi for commenting and providing links to the following images.

www.digitalnz.org
Source file: http://www.digitalnz.org/records/22585061?search%5Bi%5D%5Byear%5D=%5B1500+TO+1920%5D&search%5Bpage%5D=44&search%5Btab%5D=Images&search%5Btext%5D=maori+portrait&search%5Bview%5D=gallery
12063513_1650259555214607_4362252300904280776_n
The well known painting that appears first on this post was adapted from this image. Source file: https://scontent-frt3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12063513_1650259555214607_4362252300904280776_n.jpg?oh=fe714da6afa34864a93eb141ca88c471&oe=56F41FBF

 

95 thoughts on “A little bit of family history

  1. Long Life Cats and Dogs August 25, 2012 / 3:57 pm

    What an unbelievably fascinating family history you have and how wonderful that there are so many documents, photographs and pictures to reflect it. Thank you for sharing – it’s been a very, very interesting read.

    • twoblackdoggies August 25, 2012 / 9:11 pm

      Thank you, it was especially fascinating to a young child and I still love discovering new images and stories. So happy you found my story interesting, thank you for stopping by 🙂

      • Pam December 5, 2014 / 3:39 pm

        I am the great great grandaughter of Wharepapa and my father used to visit him and knew him as a small child. He was 7 when he was told that he would receive Wharepapa’s mere, it is magic and comes out for special occasions so we are very lucky and for myself I am very attached to him, he is always present when I do healing work, he has been my protector since I was a child, so I feel very blessed.

      • twoblackdoggies December 5, 2014 / 8:29 pm

        Lovely to meet you Pam and thank you for visiting my blog and sharing your memories of Wharepapa, so very special.

      • Pam December 6, 2014 / 4:11 pm

        I have no idea how this works, that is how to contact you, I’m curious as to who your grandfather was and what line you come down from Wharepapa. I am from his daughter Edith who married Pererika Heke of Pupuke, I helped organise a reunion in 2012 and I’m sorry that I never contacted you. There is so much I could tell you but not in this forum, there has been so much written that is incorrect – e.g. Wharepapa died in 1921, he was 101 years old. My father was named Kamariera, Wharepapa was known as Mare, that is just a little bit that I can share with you on line.

      • twoblackdoggies December 7, 2014 / 1:20 pm

        Hi Pam, would love to learn more from you and correct the information I have. Will email you at the address you have used to leave a comment.

      • Meihana July 23, 2015 / 11:01 pm

        Kia ora i have a glass painting of your tupuna Kamariera Wharepapa which was done some 30 years ago by my Taiaroa brother in-law. The whanau Wharepapa are related to my whanau via the union of Tatana Wharepapa and Kereana Tuhou daughter of Rehia Te Wera and Te Aotaki. If you know the blood line connection of Tatana and Kamariera? Please message me at exclusive@xtra.co.nz. nga mihi.

      • twoblackdoggies July 26, 2015 / 3:09 pm

        Kia ora and thank you for stopping by 🙂 I’m afraid I know nothing about the blood line connection of Tatana and Kamariera, the little information I have comes from stories and the internet. Does your brother in-law do a lot of painting? The glass painting of Kamariera sounds fascinating.

  2. birdcagedesign August 25, 2012 / 4:43 pm

    What a wonderful story. It sure does show you the power of the Internet, but also the fact that someone has taken time and care to post it there is wonderful, making it so much easier for you and your family to understand your heritage! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies August 25, 2012 / 9:09 pm

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it. The power of the internet when it comes to connecting family is a truly beautiful thing.

      • Annette March 14, 2016 / 10:49 am

        I am another Great Great Grandaughter of Wharepapa. I am decended from Wharepapa’s daughter Mary Faith. To put another feather in your cap….Mary faith married Thomas Ryan, who was in the first ever All Black team in 1884 and in a practice match against a Wellington team before they toured Australia, he scored the first points for the All Blacks 🙂

      • twoblackdoggies March 14, 2016 / 2:34 pm

        How very cool! I love that I am getting to ‘meet’ so many of my extended family 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      • Pam March 14, 2016 / 2:55 pm

        Hi Annette, have you been to any of our reunions for Wharepapa? I descend from Edith and we have had a few reunions, so I’m always looking for those in the whanau for future reunions, we are currently putting together a list of descendants, so it would be nice to add you to it. If you need my email, then please let me know.

      • Annette March 15, 2016 / 7:35 am

        Hi Pam, 5 of us went to the reunion that was held at Mangakahia back in about 1985/ 86.If you can send me your email ,that would be great 🙂

      • twoblackdoggies March 15, 2016 / 11:09 am

        Oh my goodness, I think that was the reunion my Grandfather took us to and he made us kids sit down and copy all of the family trees. Don’t think we ever finished the job 🙂

      • Pam March 15, 2016 / 3:29 pm

        We had another reunion about 3 years ago in Pakotai, it was wonderful, you can email me – pamhekereid@gmail.com. Pam

      • Susan Boyd December 5, 2016 / 1:31 pm

        Hi all, I’m yet another of the Great Grand-daughters and I went to the Reunion in the 80’s too… My cousins went to the one a few years back (The Mataira’s) and I’d love to hear more about your upcoming one Pam 🙂 .

        I was named Susan Arona after my Nana – who is from Nukutawhiti and my dad was Arona (Bill) Arona.

        As I understand it one of Nana’s Brothers was also an All Black in the 1920’s his name was Wiremu (Bill) Rika Heke

      • Pani Heke-Reid December 6, 2016 / 12:48 pm

        Kia ora Huhana, sadly you have missed the reunion which was held 3 years ago, but never mind, if you provide me with your email address, I will add you to my list for the next reunion. It was a wonderful occasion, with around 250 attending, including Wharepapa’s half brother side (Rauparaha). I am currently learning Te Reo – should have done it 50 years ago when the brain was more active, but I did a presentation on Wharepapa all in Te Reo, so I was really pleased with myself, brought tears to my eyes as I’m so connected to him. Arohanui Pani (Pam)

      • sesws December 8, 2016 / 7:55 am

        Wow everyone, I luv this info sharing going on.

        I’ve always been super proud of my Wharepapa heritage, but thinking about a 16 year old, leaving England for NZ with her new husband and a new people….. Empowered knowing I come from such a strong woman, I moved out when I was 16, with my Parents a blessing, but I couldn’t imagine letting my daughter move half way across the world at the same age… In 2016 let alone back then when travel was in those boats.

        Panic Heke Reid my email is sesws.susieboyd@gmail.

      • Two Black Dogs December 17, 2016 / 2:17 pm

        The sharing is wonderful and it makes me happy that my blog has helped connect descendants of Wharepapa 🙂

      • Two Black Dogs December 17, 2016 / 2:20 pm

        Hi Susan and thank you for stopping by to provide your family history, so many stories to share 🙂

  3. Ogee August 26, 2012 / 12:38 am

    What a rich and wonderful history! And so lucky to know so much of it.

    • twoblackdoggies August 26, 2012 / 4:06 pm

      Thank you, it has been a fascinating journey and I am sure that there is still more to uncover 🙂

  4. restlessjo August 26, 2012 / 7:32 am

    How amazing to have this as part of your family history, Sam! A beautiful share.

    • twoblackdoggies August 26, 2012 / 4:10 pm

      Thank you Jo, it was wonderful to be able to piece the stories together in a way that it was worth sharing.

  5. This Sydney Life August 27, 2012 / 9:12 am

    Hey 2BD – thanks for sharing some of your family history. How amazing! And, what a gift to be able to have attended such a reunion with your Grandfather.

    • twoblackdoggies August 28, 2012 / 7:33 pm

      You’re most welcome! It was an amazing experience and I met plenty of relatives from all over New Zealand and from all branches of the family tree 🙂

  6. megtraveling August 27, 2012 / 10:40 am

    Wonderful post and you must be so happy you can get these pictures and learn more about family history! Thank you for writing about it 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies August 28, 2012 / 7:29 pm

      Thank you Meg, every time I find an old photo or illustration that I haven’t seen before it makes me smile and I’m learning alot in the process.

  7. Margaret August 29, 2012 / 2:05 am

    What a wonderful family history, and the documents and photos are so interesting.

    • twoblackdoggies August 29, 2012 / 9:21 pm

      So happy that you liked them, thank you for stopping by 🙂

  8. Bosun Dawg August 29, 2012 / 1:13 pm

    How wonderful to have this man for your great, great, great grandfather. I really like the Lindauer painting. Thanks for sharing.

    • twoblackdoggies August 29, 2012 / 9:23 pm

      You are most welcome, thank you for the kind words. The Lindauer is definitely my favourite and beautifully executed.

  9. aplscruf August 30, 2012 / 7:35 am

    Very interesting! I loved the photographs and paintings, too. My family has also spent years searching records, collecting photos, etc. It’s so interestng to find out how many people we’re related to! My mother’s side has Native American blood, but it’s hard to trace on record due to the stigma of being an Indian in the 19th century.

    • twoblackdoggies August 30, 2012 / 12:54 pm

      Looking into your family history is such an amazing journey, each layer reveals itself over time and you learn more and more about where you came from and what life was luck for the people who came before you. So happy that you found it interesting.

      My husband’s Mum recently got confirmation that there is an indigenous connection way back in her family tree, like the Native American and the Maori, having Australian Aborigine blood had (and sadly still does) much stigma attached.

  10. Cheryl September 30, 2012 / 7:26 am

    Tena koe thank you for this – my whanau are descendants of Huhana and Ruwhiu – this is amazing and I have passed it onto my whanau – your research is awesome –

    • twoblackdoggies September 30, 2012 / 6:46 pm

      You are most welcome, there is quite a bit of information available now thanks to the Internet. A cousin of mine has actually written a book, but copies were limited so I wasn’t able to get one and it may have only been about our branch of the family. Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a great comment, keep in touch 🙂

  11. Grace Nimmo April 14, 2013 / 3:40 pm

    Hey there, wow that was great to read 🙂 . I’m also a mokopuna we just had a recent family reunion in 2012. Sadly not many of the whanau turned up. I am decendant of the first daughter. My pops still lives on the land owned by Wharepapa in Pakotai.
    Well nice read up 😀 cheers

    • twoblackdoggies April 14, 2013 / 4:51 pm

      Thank you, so glad you enjoyed it and always nice to ‘meet’ a relative :-), you’re a descendant of Maria Josephine Hope? I haven’t been to a family reunion since I was in school although there have been several since then, I remember my grandfather making us copy all branches of the family tree and it was long before digital cameras etc so we had to do it all by hand. The internet really has made research easier, I even managed to make contact with a descendant of Elizabeth Ann Reid from her second marriage – it’s a small world. Thanks again for stopping by and I’m always happy to learn of new information if ever you come across it. Cheers 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies May 15, 2013 / 8:16 pm

      It is really fascinating to look into family history, you never quite know what to expect and with the internet making the search for information and photos so much easier I’m sure more will surface as time goes by.

  12. Naomi Baltuck June 17, 2013 / 2:53 am

    Wow! This is really fascinating! What a rich heritage you have. I am so impressed with the images and information you have been able to collect. We loved New Zealand, and were intrigued by the colorful history and culture of the Maori. From what I understood after a long talk with the Maori gentleman who owned the hostel where we stayed, they have maintained an unusually strong presence in New Zealand. When we were there, they had their own government representative, composed 20% of the population, had their own television station, and the language was still being taught. I hope this is still the case.

    • twoblackdoggies June 17, 2013 / 8:18 pm

      Thank you, so glad you enjoyed reading about my family history and it really is quite amazing that finding information and images from the past has become so much easier, there was alot less available 10 years ago. New Zealand is an awesome place to explore and the Maori culture is entrenched in daily life thanks to the good work of many, Maori is taught at school and you can also study the culture, history and language at University. I’ve always found the Maori culture to be more evident on the North Island, not sure whether it is related to climate or access but the further south you head on the South Island the more European it gets.

  13. fgassette June 22, 2013 / 1:14 pm

    What a wonderful history you have. The photos are beautiful documents of a great family. Thank you so much for sharing your family history.

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • twoblackdoggies June 22, 2013 / 1:21 pm

      Thank you so much, I am hoping that as time goes by I will continue to discover more information and photos to share with you.

      You’re welcome, I enjoy discovering new blogs and thank you for popping over to visit my blog. Enjoy your weekend!

  14. Travel Spirit July 27, 2013 / 11:51 pm

    Very cool! I love the photos of Wharepapa. He’s very handsome and spiritual in nature.

    • twoblackdoggies July 29, 2013 / 2:45 pm

      So glad you enjoyed reading about Wharepapa, he was a very handsome man who led an interesting life and apparently he was also known as a storyteller.

  15. johnleighcalder2013 October 5, 2013 / 8:37 am

    Great job you have done on Wharepapa’s history also my great great grandfather, my great grand mother Hora daughter of Wharepapa, also a lot of photo’s I had not seen , apparently he was a herbalist according to my Aunty Polly who lived with him in Parnell Auckland in the early 1900s it would be interesting to get more information about this . Kind regards, John calder

    • twoblackdoggies October 5, 2013 / 4:02 pm

      Thank you John, so glad you found it interesting and that there was something in the post that you hadn’t seen before. Your name is familiar to me, don’t suppose you know a Sharon Davidson. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and leave a comment 🙂

  16. Lee Harris December 4, 2013 / 6:22 am

    Kia ora Sam,

    I absolutely loved your ‘a little bit of family history’ blog which I have recently found while surfing the internet – I had to share, what an awesome read.

    I was wondering if you are aware that the Hapu/Whanau of Mangakahia are about to present their evidence before the Waitangi Tribunal here in Te Paparahi o te Raki (The Northern District of Inquiry), Taitokerau, Northland? The week prior to Christmas 2013.

    If you are interested, please contact me for more details.

    • twoblackdoggies December 5, 2013 / 9:42 pm

      Kia ora Lee,

      I am so pleased that you enjoyed my family history post, it was alot of fun researching and I’m sure if I did did a search in another 12 months there would be more information available.

      No I wasn’t aware of what is happening in Taitokerau, it would be interesting to know more and although much of it would not be familiar to me, a friend of mine from Northland would be happy to explain it to me. I’m afraid that growing up in Australia I really haven’t made much of an effort to learn more about my family apart from what my Grandfather told me and the information I discovered going online.

  17. Yvonne SANTOS January 7, 2014 / 3:25 pm

    So interesting your family history. I have an A4 photo of the canvas by Gottfried Lindauer which was gifted to the Auckland Museum and the write up that goes with it. I am looking for a home for this memorbilla as we are moving and it needs to be relocated. Any ideas? Kind regards Yvonne SANTOS

    • twoblackdoggies January 11, 2014 / 9:04 am

      It is incredibly interesting tracing family history, there is always something new coming up in relation to Wharepapa, I only wish I had done more investigation on my father’s side while my grandparents were still alive. I’m sorry I don’t have any suggestions for the memorabilia, the majority of my family have similar portraits after visiting the museum and other exhibitions. Good luck with moving, it can be a stressful experience and I hope it goes well for you. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  18. Jeremy March 20, 2014 / 3:10 pm

    I have a painting of Te hau-takiri wharepapa in the original frame. Do you know if this painting is a rare piece?

    • twoblackdoggies March 21, 2014 / 4:48 pm

      The original portraits done by Goldie and Lindauer are in museums or galleries in New Zealand. Many copies have been made either as prints or artists reproducing the paintings in different mediums. I would not know if the painting you have is a rare piece, if you live in NZ you should probably contact one of the museums such as Te Papa in Wellington or the Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  19. kara healey May 4, 2014 / 7:41 pm

    I was searching for information about my ancestor and so happy to find your writings…seems we are related… wharepapa has been said to be our great great great grandfather on both my mother’s and father’s sides of the family. I would love to find out more. Like where is he buried? And where do I have rights to call home? Wandering and lost.

    • twoblackdoggies May 10, 2014 / 5:45 pm

      Hi Kara, thank you for stopping by my blog and it is nice to ‘meet’ a distant relative. I found the majority of my information online, there are different websites featuring our family tree which may be of help to you: http://www.whakapapa.net/tree/fam00142.html and http://records.ancestry.com/kamariera_te_wharepapa_records.ashx?pid=15552132 although ancestry.com charges you can sometimes get useful information during a free trial. I do not know exactly where he is buried, one of the websites says Mangakahia which is on the North Island and there is a photo of his grave on ancestry.com however you have to pay membership to get the information. I found brief information on this site as well: http://www.mundia.com/nz/Person/35076838/18742895474 but have not joined to see if there is a fee to access more detail.
      Good luck! I hope you find what you’re looking for, please keep in touch.
      Cheers
      Sam

      • Paul'e Ruwhiu February 8, 2017 / 11:34 am

        He is at Te Rae o te Rahiri….the cementary out in Mangakahia along with 3-4 of his daughters and a couple of his son-in laws. He is buried with his brother such a grand gravesite….I love visiting and being next to a beautiful man.
        I am the great granddaughter of Huhana Wharepapa

      • Two Black Dogs February 10, 2017 / 9:38 am

        Thank you for stopping by and participating in this extended family discussion 🙂 So many wonderful connections being made and information being shared. I will have to make a visit to that cemetery next time I am in NZ.

  20. Jacque Huhu June 10, 2014 / 12:29 am

    Kia ora Sam,

    How wonderful it was to come accross your page, whanaunga! I too am a mokopuna tuatoru of Kamariera and Elizabeth Reid. I am from their middle daughter, Huhana who married Ngawati Ruwhiu and moved to Te Araroa on the East Coast where their children married into many Ngati Porou whanau.

    I was about 16 when I learnt about our tupuna. And being a young teenage girl, I was very enamoured with their romance and especially with Elizabeth. I was around the age she was when she met and married Kamariera. I couldn’t imagine marrying and travelling to the other side of the world to live in a foreign land and never see my family again. She was a true pioneer woman, I am very humbled to be descended from such a woman.

    Thank you so much for your research, Sam. There are a few pictures that I’ve never seen before either. I have been enamoured with whakapapa ever since I learnt of our tupuna. Though I have to admit I haven’t done much research for a while. There is a letter of hers that was published in a Pioneer Women of NZ book that was put together to commemorate the Year of the Suffragette in the early 90’s I believe. I’ve been meaning to find this book again, its a lovely letter. She wrote it the day she married her second husband, Lakey.

    Well all the best whanaunga with your continued research into our rich whakapapa. I hope you don’t mind if I pop in now and then for a bit of a korero!

    Ma te wa xox

    • twoblackdoggies June 13, 2014 / 5:11 pm

      Kia ora Jacque,

      Always lovely to meet new family, thank you so much for stopping by to say hello. Many years ago I spoke to another descendant of Huhana, she lived in Sydney and we were supposed to meet at an exhibition of Goldie’s work at the Sydney Museum (in the late 90s) but it never happened. The story of Elizabeth Reid is also fascinating and I was lucky enough to be in contact with a descendant of her marriage to Samuel Lakey, an amazing and obviously strong woman to make the move that she made especially in those days.

      I’m always surprised by the amount of stuff available on the internet, every few years I manage to find more photos and more information about Wharepapa, my grandfather would have loved it!

      Please keep in touch 🙂

      Best wishes xox

  21. Charlotte June 26, 2014 / 6:02 pm

    ]

  22. Charlotte June 26, 2014 / 6:54 pm

    Hi Sam

    How cool are these photos? I’ve never seen any other pictures of Wharepapa apart from the side on portrait (young) and the front on portrait (older). He is my great great grandfather and I fall off the Edith Harriett branch. My grandmother Susan Arona (nee Rika-Heke) I was told by my father had cared/nurse for Wharepapa as he aged. I remember dad telling us lots of stories about Wharepapa and I was always fascinated about the fact he travelled all the way to england got hitched and had a baby on the way home (ok so thats not the way he explained it but its the best way I could remember as a kid, but isn’t the internet wonderful now). I also remember the reunion at Titoki college I was approx 10yrs so I only really remember being there and playing with the rest of the kids, my mother has still got a badge and a calender of the event tucked away in her glory box.

    I wish I had of paid more attention or even recorded my fathers stories and knowledge of not only Wharepapa but all my whanau history as dad sadly suffers dimentia now and so much is lost.

    Thank you Sam, this is awesome history that hopefully more whanau find.

    Take care
    Charlotte

    • twoblackdoggies June 28, 2014 / 5:26 pm

      Hi Charlotte, so lovely to meet another member of the family, even if it is only a virtual meeting. There is much more information readily available now, the internet makes researching our family tree alot easier.

      Like you, I wish I captured the stories all of my grandparents told me, as children we were fascinated and as adults we sadly don’t always make or have the time to sit, listen and record them. I am sorry to hear that your dad suffers dementia, it must be very hard for you and your family.

      Please keep in touch and thank you for visiting my blog.
      Sam 🙂

  23. Huhana Turupa Ruwhiu Rare July 21, 2014 / 3:04 pm

    Kia Ora Sam
    I don’t know whether I spoke to you when the Goldie paintings came over here to Sydney. I was one of the guides or Kai arahi that represented my great grand father. My grand mother was his youngest daughter Huhana who married Ngawati Hunua Ruwhiu from Ngapuhi who took her and his children to live in Ngati Porou. My dad TeHau Takiri Ruwhiu was his eldest son and we lived in Horoera until my Mum Te Here Taiapa a first cousin to Pine Taiapa died in 1958. I still live in Australia and would love to catch up if you are still here in Sydney
    Arohanui Huhana Rare
    my email hrare48@gmail.com

    • twoblackdoggies July 22, 2014 / 2:04 pm

      Hello Huhana,
      I think we did speak when the Goldie exhibition was in Sydney, but were unable to meet on the day that I went to see the paintings. Now I live in Queensland and rarely get to Sydney, would be wonderful to keep in touch though because most of the information I have is a result of searching the internet.
      Thank you so much for contacting me and for visiting my blog.
      Sam 🙂

  24. William Bowman August 18, 2014 / 11:21 am

    Thank you for this wonderful piece! Wharepapa is my great, great, great, great grandfather! How interesting that we are distantly related. I am just beginning to go on the journey of discovering the rich history that our family holds. It is truly fascinating to me. My grandparents have the same Lindauer copy in there house!

    • twoblackdoggies August 18, 2014 / 8:01 pm

      You are most welcome, it is a fascinating experience searching for stories about our ancestors. The Lindauer painting is quite stunning, I loved looking at it on the wall of my grandparents house and hearing my grandfather talk about the history. Enjoy your adventure into the past and thank you for stopping by my blog 🙂

  25. Melissa Davidson October 29, 2014 / 7:51 pm

    Hi Sam,
    I always think its funny how we can pass through people’s lives unnoticed, even in the same place and time, and then stumble upon the fact later. I attended the reunion as a child and I don’t remember much, except that we had a good time and full tummies! Like Kara Healey, (my neice 🙂 ) I too am a descendent of Wharepapa through my father Rex Davidson, and though he passed away in 2009, I always remember him talking of his heritage. Perhaps there will be another reunion in our lifetime where we can pass on this heritage to our children…

    • twoblackdoggies November 6, 2014 / 6:56 pm

      Hi Melissa, thank you so much for getting in touch via my blog. The reunion was such a long time ago but yes, I remember all the food and plenty of laughter as well as the shock of sharing a dorm like sleeping arrangement with lots of people I didn’t know. Living in Australia has made it harder to connect with my heritage but thanks to the internet the information is readily available. Best wishes to you and your family 🙂

  26. Marlene April 29, 2015 / 5:40 am

    Such a wonderful history. I live all the way in Napier and have a Wharepapa painting on my wall. It is leather art work and was especially carved for someone here. This painting has eventuated to me and which I felt it needed to go back to its people. Strangely I am doing my whakapapa and soon to introduce myself at a maori economic development hui. I am a maori business women and the wharepapa painting drew its own attention to me. We have korero and he has given me strength in the developing of my speech. Hence I have been reading his history through you.

  27. Renee May 6, 2015 / 11:22 am

    We also had a painting of Te Hau on our wall as a child, I loved that painting.. when I was really really little I used to think it was a painting of my Dad with a Moko 🙂 He is actually my great great great granddad. must show Dad the photos you have on here thank you for sharing x

    • twoblackdoggies May 11, 2015 / 7:51 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! It is a great painting, my brother was actually thinking of having it tattooed on his back or shoulder. We all loved looking at the painting as children and my grandfather would tell us stories, possibly more fiction than fact, but cherished nonetheless 😊

  28. Julie June 15, 2015 / 4:31 pm

    Hi there! I was in Lakes Entrance in Victoria, Australia and met this man! Great big portrait done on velvet. Being a Kiwi myself I was drawn to his painting like a moth to a flame – I googled his name and found his story on your blog. Awesome.

    • twoblackdoggies June 16, 2015 / 10:45 am

      Hi Julie, what an extraordinary find and I’ve never seen the portrait done on velvet so that would have intrigued me. Thank you for stopping by to say hello, maybe I’ll get to the Lakes Entrance myself one day and see the painting 🙂

  29. tahi November 15, 2015 / 6:03 am
    • twoblackdoggies November 18, 2015 / 2:13 am

      Thank you, I don’t think I’ve seen those images before.

      • TAHI January 16, 2016 / 6:07 am

        I don’t think many people know at all that the famous painting was adapted from the first image in my post in which he wears his hair short. Could you post both these photos to this page for the whānau?

  30. traciemcbride April 14, 2016 / 12:37 pm

    Hello, Sam! You can add me to the list of descendants drawn out of the woodwork by your blog post. I see my sister, Kara Healey and aunt, Melissa Davidson have already made contact here. I’m also now living in Australia (Melbourne).

    • twoblackdoggies April 15, 2016 / 4:34 pm

      Hi Tracie! Thanks for popping in to say hello, this post has really turned into a family affair. I wrote it so long ago and I just realised that I forgot to mention in my response to Melissa that Rex Davidson was the brother of my Grandfather Charlie. It is a small world 🙂

  31. James July 12, 2016 / 10:51 pm

    Really interesting story, i have a copy of the Lindauer portrait hanging on my door been trying to find out the back story and stumbled across this page! thanks for putting it up 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies July 14, 2016 / 10:32 am

      You’re welcome! I’m glad I could be of help, the Lindauer portrait is a beautiful one and it has been copied in many mediums 🙂

  32. Janice Howe October 9, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    Tēnā koe Sam, tēnā rā tātou ngā whanaunga!

    Hi everyone as a descendant of Edith Wharepapa, Mihingakope Rika, Meri Taurua(Toi), Harding Howe – ka nui ngā mihi!
    I am learning Te Reo Māori at Te Wananga o Takiura in Royal Oak NZ. A photo of our tupuna Kamiera Wharepapa hangs on the wall in our class. Our class has arrived at our final oral assessment for the year and the kaupapa for our 60 min kauwhau (speech) is of our choice. I have settled on ‘Whakapapa,’ for my kaupapa inspired by learning under the photo of our tupuna. I will share how by looking into our past we may find the pride and strength to carry ourselves (no matter where no matter what) with that same pride and strength that Kamiera, Elizabeth and others of our whakapapa display/ed for us.
    Ta so much for your page! This provides plenty for me to inquire – that articulate letter written in English penned by Kamiera just blew me away! And a 16 year old Elizabeth moving out to NZ far out! Empowering!!

    Mauri ora whānau

    • twoblackdoggies October 11, 2016 / 10:01 am

      Hi Janice! I am so glad that my post has provided you with useful information. Your studies sound fascinating and I love that New Zealand provides the opportunity study and explore the Maori language and culture. Best wishes for your assessment 🙂
      Cheers
      Sam

      • Janice Howe October 15, 2016 / 2:28 pm

        Auē mo taku hē! Ko Kamariera not Kamiera!!

  33. Huhana T Rare July 16, 2017 / 12:45 pm

    Kia Ora I was named after my fathers mother Huhana Wharepapa, Kamariera’s youngest daughter
    He inspires me all the time I decided to go to Uni in my late 50’s and graduated as a Nurse & kept him close whenever I needed some reassurance. His photo stayed with me throughout my studies and now his photo is rightfully in pride of place in my new business as an Aethetician, laser Hair removal,Beauty& Massage therapist. So proud that he is my Great granddad.

    • Two Black Dogs July 18, 2017 / 6:00 am

      Hello and thank you for stopping by. I love that you feel Kamariera so close and that he is your inspiration and given what you have achieved I’m sure that he would be so proud to have you as his Great Grand-daughter.

    • Pani Heke-Reid July 18, 2017 / 11:50 am

      Kia Ora Huhana, yes I know who your grandmother is, have you been to any of our reunions? Like you, Kamariera is an inspiration to me in my healing work, he is always around me and keeps me safe when at all times. It is lovely to know that yet another one of his whanau are in the healing arts, we are very lucky to come from his line. Last month we had a tangi and his mere was brought along to sit on the casket, what a beautiful energy it gives us, I link my mere to his for whanau healings, I hope we will meet at the next reunion. I am now in my early 70’s and last year I decided to learn Te Reo, what an enjoyment for me, not being taught by my father (also Kamariera) I am blessed that it now available to me. Pani

      • Two Black Dogs September 25, 2017 / 9:44 am

        Hi Pani, are you able to assist Patsy Burke (comment below ) with her request about the upcoming reunion? Best wishes Sam.

  34. patsysreflectiveprocess September 10, 2017 / 9:15 pm

    Tena koe. My name is Patsy Burke and I would like to contact other whanau to help me with research regarding my great great great grandfather and mother. Kamariera Te Hau Takiri Wharepapa and Elizabeth Ann Reid. I am a film maker and creative writer. I pray you can help me get to a reunion or ask to read information about their life in Mangakahia. my email is projectgeneration2012@gmail.com Thank you so much.

    • Two Black Dogs September 24, 2017 / 3:41 pm

      Hi Patsy, thank you for stopping by my blog. As you can see there has been a large number of our extended family commenting so I am sure that one of them will be able to assist with your request, I’m afraid that the only information I have is in this blog post. Good luck with your project

      • Pani Heke-Reid September 29, 2017 / 2:01 pm

        Kia ora Patsy, I am able to help you with connecting to our whanau and I also have a lot of info on the whanau tree, email me at pamhekereid@gmail.com. Pani

      • Two Black Dogs October 16, 2017 / 11:08 am

        Hi Patsy, I have passed your email on and hope that you two connect soon 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

