Hot off the press! Swell: series one

Just after 4am I arose from a deep slumber courtesy of my husband, the plan, to see the sun rise over the Swell Sculpture Festival on Currumbin Beach. I am not a morning person but once on the sand the enjoyment of being on the beach and watching the sun rise removed all trace of sleep. Photographers with their tripods were everywhere, we unintentionally followed each other along the esplanade, vying for the best position in an attempt to capture a creative photograph of the sculptures on display. There is much for me to learn and I’m pretty sure that some of other people’s images were taken from an angle that never entered my mind, yet I’m pretty happy with the results and I hope you will be too.

The biggest mosquito on the coast was the most popular insect on the coast this morning with several people toting cameras and tripods preparing to capture its silhouette as the sun rose.

The love cats…

This sculpture represents rain, sunshine and wind, which is which? My guess, from left to right is wind, sunshine and rain.

It won’t come as a surprise to any of you that the reflective dogs were one of the pieces that I really loved, seeing them from front, back, left and right gave me something different and interesting to experience.

Sculptures featuring mosaics appear every year, regretfully I did not pick up a program so I don’t know who the artist responsible for this colourful and pretty piece is but the style is familar and I’ve no doubt that their work has been exhibited in Swell for the last few years.

Between May and August humpback whales migrate north along the east and west coasts of Australia to breeding areas off Queensland and in September they begin the return journey to feeding areas in the Antarctic. This sculpture is a beautiful and timely reminder of this annual event, later in the morning we did actually spot a couple of whales off shore, even though they were too far away for me to photograph them it was still an exciting experience.

Can you see the faces? I didn’t notice them at first, distracted by the colour and the reflections it wasn’t until I looked through the lens during my efforts to focus that I noticed them.

With more photos still to come please stay tuned for Swell:series two!

Cheers and have a great weekend πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Hot off the press! Swell: series one

  1. Debra Kolkka September 22, 2012 / 3:20 pm

    What fun! I’ll have to go to Currumbin one year……I haven’t been there for ages.

    • twoblackdoggies September 22, 2012 / 3:24 pm

      I don’t go to Currumbin very often, Swell is my motivation for at least one visit each year and it is great if you can get there before the crowds.

  2. birdcagedesign September 22, 2012 / 8:26 pm

    Love these, you have whet my appetite for the Sydney version. Great shots πŸ™‚ Looked like you had a lovely day too!

    • twoblackdoggies September 27, 2012 / 2:44 pm

      Glad you liked the photos, it is a fabulous day out especially when the weather is good and being able to get there at sunrise was an added bonus.

  3. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom September 22, 2012 / 11:50 pm

    You took some great photos. The dogs were really cool, you could take shots from every angle and capture something different. I can’t wait to see the next set!

    • twoblackdoggies September 27, 2012 / 2:45 pm

      Thank you πŸ™‚
      The dogs were cool, since seeing the exhibition I have seen photographs taken at completely differently angles and it is amazing to see the variety of shots.

  4. Ogee September 23, 2012 / 12:35 am

    Beautiful! Thanks for bringing this home to us!

  5. restlessjo September 23, 2012 / 8:03 am

    Sam, these are gorgeous! The faces in that blue green glass! And those flowery ladies- I want to take one home with me.

    • twoblackdoggies September 27, 2012 / 2:48 pm

      Thank you! Those artworks are among my favourites and each year those artists submit something using a similar medium and they’re often the ones that appeal the most.

  6. Fabulous Fur Friends September 23, 2012 / 6:51 pm

    Lovely photos. There are such creative people in the world, it never ceases to amaze me. Thanks for sharing them with us.

    • twoblackdoggies September 27, 2012 / 2:50 pm

      Thank you. I love that we have such easy access to creative works as part of this exhibition, some of the work leaves you wondering what was going through their mind at the time but mostly I just love looking at them πŸ™‚

  7. megtraveling September 24, 2012 / 1:06 am

    I’m so glad you got up extra early to get these beautiful pictures! I really like the dogs… This is a fantastic post – thanks!

    • twoblackdoggies September 27, 2012 / 2:53 pm

      I am too! I can thank my husband for dragging me out of bed so early πŸ™‚ So glad you liked the photos!

  8. margieinitaly September 24, 2012 / 2:10 pm

    This looks like it is so fun! Thanks for the follow on my blog!

  9. George Weaver October 4, 2012 / 11:31 am

    The whale really interested me, and you info about them was good too. I was impressed by the dogs. I’d never have thought about reflections, but these are fantastic. The one in which you can hardly see the dogs along the sand is fascinating. It almost looks like impressions in the sand. Very interesting photos … all of them!

    • twoblackdoggies October 4, 2012 / 12:20 pm

      The whale was especially beautiful seen at that time of day, I’m hoping that I will get to see a real whale up close and in their natural environment in the future, such magnificent creatures. I did love the dogs, the artist was extremely clever to create such a piece of work that could be viewed in so many different ways. Glad you liked the photos and found them interesting, thanks again for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

