Puppy Sunday

Most Sundays you will find me at our local animal shelter, I volunteered originally as a dog walker but with so much to do, cleaning pens and feeding the dogs has also become part of my role. I love it! When I get home I am covered from head to toe in dog slobber, dirt, hair and poo and I stink, my own dogs don’t know where to start sniffing first. This morning I worked with one of the other volunteers to clean the row of pens containing lots of puppies and small dogs, trying to clean a pen filled with 8 week old puppies can be a challenge, they are like a swarm and follow my every move. At the moment there are six Shar Pei puppies waiting for their forever homes, they are the cutest, wrinklest, funniest little things and I couldn’t resist taking lots of photos as well as a rather shaky video – it is hard to film puppies when they insist on jumping all over you. Shar Peis aren’t for everyone, they’re high maintenance dogs thanks to a myriad of problems cause by their wrinkles, however, if you’re willing to put in the effort (and this really goes for all dogs) you will have a loyal friend for life.

Shar Pei puppy swarm

Shar Pei puppies

Shar Pei puppies
My thumb is not a chew toy!

Shar Pei puppy

Adopt a shelter pet and save a life!

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Puppy Sunday

  1. Doggy's Style October 7, 2012 / 11:19 pm

    It’s really nice what you do.
    Those puppies are just too cute.

    • twoblackdoggies October 8, 2012 / 10:22 am

      Thank you, I’m not sure who gets the most enjoyment – me or the dogs 🙂

  2. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom October 7, 2012 / 11:40 pm

    Oh my gosh what sweet little faces, I hope they are in their forever homes soon. And, thank you for volunteering, that’s awesome!

    • twoblackdoggies October 8, 2012 / 10:25 am

      They are such sweet little things, even when they’re trying to gnaw off my thumb :-). You’re welcome, volunteering has become my heart job, it really is an amazing experience even though at times it brings tears to my eyes.

  3. Ogee October 8, 2012 / 1:00 am

    It’s a great way to spend a Sunday! Thanks for all you do 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies October 8, 2012 / 10:27 am

      It is indeed a great way to spend a Sunday, it is my light at the end of the tunnel after spending all week sitting in an office.

  4. Jorie October 8, 2012 / 3:40 am

    What cuties!

    • twoblackdoggies October 8, 2012 / 10:28 am

      They are real cuties, I love the way they smell (after all the poo is gone) and their funny little face and round tummies make me smile.

    • twoblackdoggies October 8, 2012 / 10:30 am

      Irresistibly so, but I’m glad that the staff are informing all interested parties of the work involved in owning one of these gorgeous babies so that they’re not just adopted because of the major cute factor.

    • twoblackdoggies October 8, 2012 / 10:31 am

      Thank you, it really is the job I love the most and how can you not have fun with puppies climbing all over you and dogs lining up for a cuddle or a tummy rub. Such amazing creatures with such a huge capacity for love and forgiveness 🙂

  5. megtraveling October 9, 2012 / 6:34 am

    That’s a wonderful way to spend a Sunday! And I hope those dear little doggies find good homes soon… 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies October 9, 2012 / 4:35 pm

      It is indeed, how can you be grumpy when you’re surrounded by cute little (and big) creatures that are so happy and excited to see you 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

