Where did the time go?

Bundy the dog at the beach

Only yesterday (or so it seems) my husband, Bundy and I were at the beach admiring the creative works of others and making the most of the opportunity to get our feet wet. If you’re wondering where Maxi, our other black dog is, she didn’t join us at the beach because her arthritis doesn’t allow her to spend a couple of hours walking up and down the beach and as she gets older, she is getting less patient (friendly) with other dogs. Since the Swell sculpture exhibition life has gotten pretty busy, both socially and at work, but mainly at work and it has my head spinning. I generally don’t write about work, preferring to spend my spare time focusing on the loves in my life because that is what is most important to me and I think that when you write about work it can be easy to get bogged down in the negative.

The weeks are flying by, soon it will be Christmas but in the meantime my boss will have moved on and we’ll be looking down the barrel at a restructure of our entire division. Restructures aren’t always a bad thing, I don’t mind the change and I’m trying to remain optimistic, hoping that it won’t mean a major loss of jobs however I’m not naive and realise that some loss is inevitable especially for those staff on short term contracts. The scary thing is that I’ll probably be stepping into my boss’ shoes for the short term, why? Because I’ve been around for a while and our senior executives are hoping that I can maintain a level of stability for the team while they determine what our structure will look like. Can I do it? Who knows, my boss seems to think so which is really nice but I can’t help feeling like a fraud.

The likelihood of something going wrong, really wrong, is minimal for the short period of time that I’ll be acting in that role, still, it makes me quite nervous and I hope that the pressure doesn’t turn me into a complete stress bucket. Coming home to our two black doggies and spending Sundays at the shelter will help keep me grounded, when working with the dogs I don’t think about work, it is all about them and I’m usually so tired of an evening that I easily fall asleep.

I guess I just have to keep reminding myself that I am working to live and make myself take time to enjoy moments such as those in my photos.

14 thoughts on “Where did the time go?

  1. elisaruland October 20, 2012 / 11:46 am

    Here is what I know. Even when times get rough, or weird, or when you’re in stay up all night long because you don’t know what’s going to happen mode; life has a way of being the great equalizer. Your job might change, but you will stay the same. You’ll still adore your husband and your two sweet dogs and you’ll find a way to enjoy every minute of the day. It just might be different, but it will be good.

    Best wishes.
    elisa

  2. birdcagedesign October 20, 2012 / 12:19 pm

    I am sure you will do just fine… remember you can only do your best, and as long as you have done that no one can fault you! Enjoy that beach and the sunshine πŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies October 20, 2012 / 5:02 pm

      Thanks, I’m just glad it is only for a short period of time and I keep asking myself ‘how bad can I really stuff things up?’ πŸ™‚

  3. Ogee October 20, 2012 / 2:55 pm

    I’ve found that the people who worry the most about whether they are ready, or qualified, or talented enough – are. The ones who bluster about how they are all of the above – usually aren’t. And yet they land in these positions simply because they have the audacity to go for it. So go for it. I suspect you will be fabulous. Just remember to breathe. πŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies October 20, 2012 / 5:01 pm

      Thank you Ogee, I hope you’re right and I will keep reminding myself to breathe πŸ™‚

  4. megtraveling October 21, 2012 / 10:31 am

    Spending time with your dogs and also at the shelter is a good way to keep some balance and perspective of what’s important. I’m sure you’ll do great at work too!

    • twoblackdoggies October 21, 2012 / 4:21 pm

      Thanks Meg. It really does give me balance and perspective, I find that no matter how toxic a day as been my dogs make me feel better and I remind myself that life is actually pretty good πŸ™‚

  5. Sheila October 24, 2012 / 3:10 am

    I love seeing dogs at the beach. They get so excited and really show us how to enjoy everything. I’m sure they’re the perfect remedy to any crazy work day. They must give lots of big wet kisses too (especially when they’re all wet and sandy from the beach)!

    • twoblackdoggies October 24, 2012 / 2:46 pm

      Dogs really know how to have fun and they don’t care who sees them, it is a great way to live and definitely having them to come home to makes my life complete. Wet, sandy kisses are always in abundance, their excitement is contagious and the only time it didn’t enthuse me was when Maxi found something dead and gross to nibble on…yuk! πŸ™‚

  6. George Weaver October 26, 2012 / 3:27 pm

    I always love the photos of the dogs in the headers and the ones you include in the posts. I’m sure you’re way into the interim boss thing by now. And, I’m sure you’re doing fine. πŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies October 27, 2012 / 8:44 am

      Thanks, my doggies are pretty used to me taking thousands of photos although our old girl, Maxi, has a tendency to turn away as soon as any form of camera appears πŸ™‚
      The boss thing starts in 2 weeks, it has only just become official and thankfully there are lots of good people in our unit so that will help tremendously – thanks for the vote of confidence, everyone has been so supportive as usual πŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

