Roll out the red carpet

It’s that time of year again, awards season, time to roll out the red carpet, hire a limo and don a pretty frock (or tuxedo). An actor, director, writer I am not, but in the last two months I have been on the receiving end of a couple of awards and it is about time that I wrote my acceptance speech.

The lovely and talented ladies Meg and MariaGiovanna, from Meg Travels and Sharing My Italy nominated me for the Blog of the Year 2012, thank you Meg and MariaGiovanna! If you love travel, and particularly travel in Italy, you will find much to love about these blogs.

Blog of the Year Award 2 star jpeg

As with all blogging awards, there are ‘rules’ and the rules for this award are simple:

  1. Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award
  2. Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award
  3. Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Awardhttp://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/  and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)
  4. Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them
  5. You can now also join our Facebook page – click the link here ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/groups/BlogoftheYear/ and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience
  6. As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

Rather than nominate blogs which I haven’t nominated before as is my usual practice, the list of my nominees for this award will be a mix and I’ll also be adding them to my blog awards page.

…and the award goes to:

The Blissful Adventurer

Dutch goes Italian

Restless Jo

Kate with a Camera

Elisa Ruland, fun and fabulousness

A Heartbeat at My Feet

This Sydney Life

If you haven’t already checked these blogs out, please do especially if you love travel, photography, dogs and design.

The other award I recently received is the Versatile Blogger Award and it comes from Jax of Paper and Lace, a gorgeous blog dedicated to making life easier for Kiwi brides. Paper and Lace features wedding photography, ideas for decorator, a black book of wedding suppliers and freebie stationery designs such as calendars. Although I’m already married, I love looking at the photos on Paper and Lace and admiring the creative work that people produce to make a wedding day special. I have received the Versatile Blogger Award previously, but the badge is different for this one so I’m going to (sort of) follow the rules 🙂

versatile blogger award

The rules for the Versatile Blogger Award are as follows:

  • Display the Award Certificate on your website
  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award
  • Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post
  • Post 7 interesting things about yourself

Given that I’ve done this before, see: Versatile Blogger Award I’m only going to offer up 3 things about myself and nominate 3 blogs that I haven’t nominated previously.

…and the award goes to:

Richard Tulloch’s Life on the Road – Richard is a talented, experienced and published writer blogging about his travel adventures which extend as far as Europe but also include destinations much closer to home.

Travelling Italy with Lyn – Lyn has a passion for travel, particularly travel in Italy which I understand completely and it has been a joy following her adventures in one of my favourite countries.

The Midwest Maven – I love the description that Jorie provides about her blog: “It’s like a cyber junk drawer, but with better organization and fewer rubber bands.” Jorie writes about travel, food, dogs and everyday life and I like her style.

Three things about me:

  1. I am a compulsive purchaser and collector of travel guides and brochures.
  2. Spending time alone at home with my dogs is one of my most favourite things to do and it helps recharge my flagging energy supply.
  3. I miss my Nanna’s old fashioned, homestyle cooking that was never fancy but always delicious. Dishes such as creamed rice with cooked peaches, chewy anzac biscuits and the best Christmas pudding and custard I have ever eaten.

Thank you for your nominations and support, happy blogging in 2013!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Roll out the red carpet

  1. mollieandalfie January 19, 2013 / 9:52 pm

    Big congratulations, its always nice to receive awards 🙂 I miss my Nana’s cooking 🙂
    Have a great weekend.
    xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • twoblackdoggies January 20, 2013 / 4:35 pm

      Thank you Mollie and Alfie! Hope you’re both safe inside away from the blizzard, it looks very scary.
      Happy Sunday! 🙂

  2. restlessjo January 20, 2013 / 6:24 pm

    This is always a lovely blog to visit, Sam, and I’m sure the awards will keep on rolling. Thanks for my kind nomination, and the intro to a couple of new-to-me bloggers.

    • twoblackdoggies January 20, 2013 / 7:45 pm

      You’re most welcome Jo and thank you for the kind words. Finding new-to-me blogs is probably what I enjoy most about these sort of awards. Hope you aren’t freezing over there, have seen the most amazing photographs of all the snow.

  3. megtraveling January 21, 2013 / 2:44 am

    Congratulations on your awards! It’s always nice to find out about new blogs too… 🙂

  4. aussiegirl0905 January 21, 2013 / 11:34 am

    Hi Sam
    Thank you very much for your nomination and thank you for supporting my bog. I am still very new to the world of blogging so I really do not understand what all this means nor what I must do.
    So I gratefully accept the compliment but gracefully decline your offer Thank you
    Lyn
    ps I also love dogs very much, you may have seen my little Buddy in a few posts

  5. elisaruland January 21, 2013 / 2:30 pm

    ta-dah!! Congratulations! Your blog is wonderful and always a pleasure to visit. Thank you for the mention! I’m honored…happy!

    Take care,
    Elisa

  6. Jorie January 24, 2013 / 1:05 pm

    Thank you so much for the nomination, Sam! You’ve made my day 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

