For the love of dogs

Volunteering at an animal shelter gives me much joy, for several hours each week I get to spend time with dogs of all shapes and sizes, often going home covered in slobber, dirt, poo and a variety of dog hair. Whether my job is cleaning their kennels or playing ball in the exercise yard it really doesn’t matter to me but knowing that each dog has had some positive, caring interaction with a person makes me happy.

These are some of the beautiful creatures that I’ve been lucky to spend time with, some of them have found their furever family and some are still waiting but in the meantime I will love each of them.

One of my dearest friends (who I refer to as the crazy cat lady) gave me a great book called ARFfirmations, Meditations for your dog by Ellis Weiner and Barbara Davilman and for this crazy dog lady, it was the perfect gift. This book is written for dogs, the aim is to inspire them to feel confident and to help them avoid feeling shame or guilt as a consequence of their actions (such as sitting on the sofa), I’ll leave you with one of my favourite ARFfirmations from their book.

I whine when you leave the home because I know how much you will miss me

Why do I whimper every single time you walk out the door, even just to get the paper? It is because I am blessed with empathic sensitivity. I know, even before you leave, how much you will wish you were back home, glorying in the magnificence that is I. It is only natural and fitting that you feel this way. I know, as you know, that I am the cutest thing in the universe. I combine adorableness and genius. If I were not myself, I would miss me, too.

 

22 thoughts on “For the love of dogs

  1. Fabulous Fur Friends February 25, 2013 / 5:25 pm

    Good on you Sam for continuing to bring some fun into these dogs’ lives. There are so many smiley faces looking for love, and even a long nose! Love the ARFfirmation too!

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:30 am

      Thank you, not quite sure who has the most fun – me or the dogs 🙂

  2. dutchgoesitalian February 25, 2013 / 10:33 pm

    Wow, what a wonderful way of helping these dogs. We all need some positive interaction, also dogs 😀 Great Job sam!!

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:31 am

      Thank you, its a wonderful way to spend the time 🙂

  3. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom February 26, 2013 / 12:48 am

    It’s so good that you help these dogs in need of a little love until they find their new homes. And, this sounds like a cute book!

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:32 am

      I can’t help but love these wonderful, loyal creatures and the book is very cute 🙂

  4. Ogee February 26, 2013 / 1:37 am

    Love the cattle pup! Sending all those in need good thoughts for happy adopters! Thanks for helping them on their journey 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:33 am

      Thank you, she is a gorgeous ball of fluff and by now has probably been adopted – puppies usually get adopted quickly 🙂

  5. Long Life Cats and Dogs February 26, 2013 / 2:16 am

    What a wonderful bunch of dogs and great that you are giving of your time, energy and love to help them. I wish them all great forever homes soon. The book sounds great.

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:35 am

      Thank you. I hope your wish comes true, until then I’ll take all the cuddles and doggy love I can get (and give). The book is fun to read and a great gift for crazy dog lady friends 😉

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:36 am

      There are so many great ARFfirmations, glad you and Bella like them 🙂

  6. elisaruland February 27, 2013 / 3:11 am

    I’m proud of you for volunteering your time and love to these precious loves…it must be hard to leave at the end of each day that you spend with them. GREAT pics!

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:37 am

      Thank you, it is one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done and yes, definitely hard to leave them at the end of the day especially when you can’t help but bond with them.

  7. megtraveling February 28, 2013 / 3:18 am

    They are such sweet dogs and you can see their personalities through your wonderful pictures! What fun experiences you must have with them… 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2013 / 6:38 am

      Thanks Meg, they all have such different personalities and behaviours and I enjoy my time with them immensely.

  8. crystalwayward March 1, 2013 / 11:12 am

    What a hilarious quotation! I am certain that is exactly how my dogs feel every morning when I leave them to go to work.

    • twoblackdoggies March 5, 2013 / 4:02 pm

      There are some hilarious and wonderful ARFfirmations in that book, I’m pretty sure that my doggies know how much I miss them when I leave them at home 🙂

  9. kareninhonolulu March 14, 2013 / 7:13 am

    Oh that book is too funny. I love it. Can you imagine when I walk out the door to pick up the paper and four noses smoosh up to the screen to watch me. Talk about dealing with affirmations. wonderful photos I enjoyed the post,

    • twoblackdoggies March 16, 2013 / 9:40 am

      Thank you. It is a funny book, I read it and have to wonder whether my dogs provided any input for the author 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

