Such a beautiful Autumn morning

This morning we are up early, before the sun rises and long before our two black doggies usually get out of bed. Outside the air is cool, inside the aroma of freshly brewed coffee motivates me to get moving and get dressed for a trip to the beach. You may well wonder why anyone would want to go to the beach while it is cold and dark, but with a beautiful day forecast we know the temperature will rise and it is a perfect time to practice my photography and capture a sunrise. Eventually excitement reaches the dogs and they happily sit on the back seat of the car with tongues out and the drool slowing dripping onto the console and window sill of the door. As we cross the bridge that takes us towards the beach they start to fidget as familiar smells and sounds reach them, both are itching to stretch their legs on the sand, splash about in the waves and maybe roll in something dead and smelly.

I set up my tripod in a couple of different spots, clicking away madly whilst the dogs take turns dashing across the sand, retrieving sticks and balls for my husband. Soon Maxi joins me for a rest, at her age there is less dashing and more strolling, she still loves to paddle in the surf and can never resist digging holes in the soft sand. Only one other photographer has joined me on the beach, we aren’t at the most picturesque spot on the coast nor the most popular place for surfing so for many there is probably no reason to venture onto the sand, camera in hand, but for me and our little family it is the perfect place.

Looking back I realise that I should have focused more on the clouds as the rays of sunlight peeked through, experimenting with capturing the motion of the waves and the reflections distracted me yet I am happy with these few images that I am sharing with you and hope that you will be too.

18 thoughts on “Such a beautiful Autumn morning

  1. Debra Kolkka April 20, 2013 / 5:28 pm

    This is why I can’t live in Italy full time. I love our beautiful Australian beaches….and lots of other wonderful things.

    • twoblackdoggies April 21, 2013 / 5:43 pm

      We do have amazing beaches, so much space and watching the sun rise over the ocean is pretty special.

  2. restlessjo April 20, 2013 / 5:41 pm

    They are glorious, Sam! And I love the fresh Spring look to your blog.
    I should overhaul mine, but I kind of like it and don’t have a feel for where to go with it next, if you know what I mean.

    • twoblackdoggies April 21, 2013 / 5:46 pm

      Thank you Jo, it was a wonderful way to start the day. Thought it was about time to change the look of my blog even though it isn’t drastically different, tried a few of the themes before settling on this one and I like that there is a bit more colour šŸ™‚

  3. This Sydney Life April 20, 2013 / 5:46 pm

    It’s raining in Syders. The beach looks sublime – and nothing beats it with a couple of happy puppies!

    • twoblackdoggies April 21, 2013 / 5:48 pm

      I hope the rain doesn’t head this way, we need a few weeks of sunshine to dry out after all the rain we’ve had. The beach with our dogs is definitely a great way to start the day and the weekend šŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies April 21, 2013 / 5:49 pm

      Thanks! I managed to get a couple without messing it up, there were alot of blurry ones because those puppy dogs were having so much fun going from sand to surf.

  4. megtraveling April 20, 2013 / 11:43 pm

    Your pictures are beautiful and the dogs are having so much fun! It looks like a lovely day to be at the beach… šŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies April 21, 2013 / 5:50 pm

      Thank you, it was alot of fun and something that I would recommend to anyone visiting the East Coast – get up early and watch the sunrise because it is spectacular even in Winter šŸ™‚

  5. Misaki April 20, 2013 / 11:44 pm

    Absolutely stunning photos:-)

  6. Wiley Schmidt April 21, 2013 / 2:05 am

    Wow, what a beautiful morning indeed! Your pictures are pieces of art! Say hi to the dogs for me. šŸ˜‰

    • twoblackdoggies April 21, 2013 / 5:52 pm

      You’re so kind, thank you! Two black doggies say hi šŸ™‚

  7. elisaruland April 21, 2013 / 10:18 am

    Your shots are full of beauty and joy, and the light is AMAZING!

    • twoblackdoggies April 21, 2013 / 5:53 pm

      Thank you so much, it means alot coming from someone who takes such beautiful pictures.

    • twoblackdoggies April 28, 2013 / 9:01 pm

      Thank you and yes, it was a beautiful morning and well worth dragging myself (and the fur kids) out of bed šŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

