In love with Orvieto

Today I’m feeling a little melancholy, the cooler weather and a few other things are really making me wish that I was back in Italy, in particular the hilltop town of Orvieto. Like Venice, Orvieto stole my heart and if I cannot click my heels together and find myself sitting at a bar in the piazza outside the duomo then I shall travel back in time and revisit Orvieto through my blog.

Cheers
Sam ๐Ÿ™‚

Two Black Dogs

Vineyard and Orvieto in the background

Our last day in Orvieto and after stressing about money all afternoon because we couldnโ€™t withdraw cash from either of our accounts, we discovered that there was an actual limit of 250 euros on the bancomat machines in Orvieto. Problem solved, weโ€™ll pay our accommodation with Visa and withdraw more money when we get to our next destination. The fees St George Bank charge us are killers โ€“ about $75 AUD in conversion and foreign withdrawal fees to withdraw about $2000 over the past 5 weeks. It is the little things that often drive us nuts, however it isnโ€™t enough to spoil our stay in this wonderful hill town north of Rome.

Anyway, we walked into Orvieto at about 7pm this evening, our B&B accommodation isnโ€™t far but it is all uphill, we walked to the nearest carpark and then made use of the escalators to take us to Piazzaโ€ฆ

View original post 711 more words

12 thoughts on “In love with Orvieto

  1. aussiegirl0905 June 1, 2013 / 9:07 pm

    I hope to visit Orvieto particularly since reading this excellent post

    • twoblackdoggies June 3, 2013 / 8:22 pm

      I think you will love it, in addition to be a wonderful town the people were really very friendly and helpful plus it is close to places like Civita di Bagnoreggio and Lake Bolsena ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. megtraveling June 3, 2013 / 12:02 am

    Orvieto is so beautiful – you picked a great place to daydream about… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies June 3, 2013 / 8:23 pm

      I daydream regularly of Italy and the towns we visited but Orvieto is a favourite ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sheila June 7, 2013 / 4:03 am

    Italy is the best daydream. This is one place we haven’t made it to yet so now I’m dreaming about going there next time!

    • twoblackdoggies June 8, 2013 / 5:41 pm

      It is a fabulous place to visit in a daydream, I go there often ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. elisaruland June 10, 2013 / 2:30 pm

    I wasn’t familiar with Orvieto until I read your post. I can see why she stole your heart. Beautiful!

    • twoblackdoggies June 10, 2013 / 6:52 pm

      Rick Steve’s guidebooks introduced me to Orvieto, with so many hilltop towns to enjoy in Italy choosing just a couple to visit was hard and he painted a picture of Orvieto that was hard to resist. I think it would be difficult to stay in Orvieto and not fall in love with the town, its people and the food ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

