High tea sugar rush

High tea menu of beverages

Recently I attended a High Tea birthday celebration at a lovely little place called Tea and Niceties in Eagle Heights on Mt Tamborine, I wasn’t sure what to expect having never experienced high tea before but thoughts of cucumber sandwiches and pots of Earl Grey tea crossed my mind and I don’t like either. You can imagine my delight when I walked into the tea room to see chandeliers hanging from the ceiling, silverware with vintage cups and saucers, silk flowers and decorated sugar cubes, so very pretty and girly and probably not a place that the average Aussie male would frequent. The list of teas ranged from the typical English Breakfast through to Chai, Japanese Lime and Ginger teas and for two hours we sipped tea and ate dainty treats that included cucumber sandwiches, savoury muffins, scones with jam and cream and cream filled cakes. All of the food is made on the premises and you can purchase bags of each tea to brew at home, as well as other homemade items and gifts such as preserves, rose soaps and teasets.

It was a sugar laden affair, at the end of two hours I felt as though my eyeballs were swimming in my head, experiencing a sugar rush ‘high’ that would result in me ‘crashing’ an hour or so later. Still, it was a really delightful afternoon and the affair allowed me to catch up with some lovely people whom I hadn’t seen for quite a while.

17 thoughts on “High tea sugar rush

  1. rubytheblacklabrador July 8, 2013 / 5:13 pm

    Wow! what a spread but it looks lovely and there is something so civilised about catch up with people over high tea 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies July 8, 2013 / 5:25 pm

      It certainly was a sugary feast of fingerfood and it did feel rather civilised, something one should do on occasion 🙂

  2. followingroy July 8, 2013 / 8:04 pm

    I always find it hard to eat food that looks soo pretty. 😀

    • twoblackdoggies July 8, 2013 / 8:15 pm

      It was almost too pretty to eat, so I made sure I took lots of photos first 🙂

  3. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom July 8, 2013 / 10:55 pm

    Sounds like a lovely time! One of my aunts hosted my bridal shower (years back) at a tea house and it sounds similar… major sugar rush but all very yummy!

    • twoblackdoggies July 10, 2013 / 8:34 pm

      It is a fabulous way to catch up with girlfriends, I’ve already got a few friends wanting to get together for high tea. Major sugar rush and major giggles 🙂

  4. elisaruland July 9, 2013 / 2:46 am

    I love attending parties with my girlfriends because you can surround yourself with feminine do dads and sugary feasts. This is such a beautiful setting, but something tells me a guy would enjoy a nibble just as much! Great photos!

    • twoblackdoggies July 10, 2013 / 8:39 pm

      Thank you, have been making the most of the Hipstamatic iPhone app and loving the results. I call these types of activities ‘playing ladies’ and it is lots of fun, a great excuse for dressing up and spending time with girlfriends. Guys would definitely enjoy the nibbles, the pink, flowery, and frilly decor might be a little overwhelming for some 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies July 10, 2013 / 8:40 pm

      Definitely! I hope to be doing it again in the not-too-distant future 🙂

  5. dogsinnercity July 20, 2013 / 11:22 am

    The fotos look beautiful & nothing quite like a high tea….a gorgeous thing to do…

    • twoblackdoggies July 20, 2013 / 5:40 pm

      Thank you, everything looked so pretty that I couldn’t resist taking lots of photos. It was a most enjoyable afternoon of playing ladies 🙂

  6. restlessjo July 24, 2013 / 10:36 pm

    Much too pretty to eat, Sam 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies July 25, 2013 / 3:24 pm

      I know, but I forced myself to make the most of the situation 😉

  7. aussiegirl0905 August 20, 2013 / 6:41 am

    Yum. I Iove a good high tea. I must keep this one in mind. I have not been getting your posts for ages. Not sure why

    • twoblackdoggies August 22, 2013 / 10:59 am

      High tea is a good way to spend an afternoon (or morning) and Mt Tamborine is a lovely place to visit as well. I’ve been a bit slack with posts in the last couple of months so that could be why you haven’t seen anything. Have also noticed that some of the blogs I follow seem to have disappeared from my email even though I know new posts have been written.

      • aussiegirl0905 August 22, 2013 / 11:03 am

        The only way I knew about your high tea post was cause I was looking at the reader. Not sure why I am not getting your posts. Must try that high tea one day

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

