Spring time photo walks

As many of you know, it is spring here in Australia and after a reasonably mild winter (for the most part) we are experiencing a sunny and warm start to spring with an extremely long and hot summer predicted. It has been several years since we experienced a ‘real’ summer on the Queensland coast, it has rained extensively each summer since the drought broke at the end of 2007 and everyone I know is keen to hit the beach and spend more time in the sun this year.

Although I am always dreaming of and planning our next holiday, at the moment I have to be satisfied with exploring our local region and experiencing life as a South East Queenslander. Lately our neighbours may have started wondering were I was going with Bundy and my camera in tow as I toddled off down the street, they’re used to seeing me walking our dogs however many probably don’t think that there is anything of great interest to photograph on our walks. They couldn’t be more wrong, spring is an excellent time to walk around local parks and recently we’ve had the pleasure of hearing and seeing a Koala in the bush next door to our house, as you can imagine, the camera was soon in hand.

Time to stop waffling and share my neighbourhood with you, I hope you enjoy the walk and if you’re sick of seeing photos of birds and flowers then look away πŸ™‚

 

10 thoughts on “Spring time photo walks

    • twoblackdoggies September 15, 2013 / 5:15 pm

      So do I! I never expected to see them where we live but they return every afternoon for a nap.

  1. Ogee September 15, 2013 / 2:08 pm

    Your neighborhood is a lot more exciting than mine! Great shots. I’ll walk with you anytime. πŸ™‚

    • twoblackdoggies September 15, 2013 / 5:17 pm

      Thank you. We’re lucky to live in a reasonably rural area near a river and a few man-made bodies of water, makes for some interesting wildlife. Glad to have the company πŸ™‚

  2. restlessjo September 15, 2013 / 5:20 pm

    How fabulous to have a row of pelicans lined up in your park and a koala in a tree. Earthly paradise, Sam. πŸ™‚ The rain has just started here, but I’m hopeful for tomorrow and some Autumn colour.

    • twoblackdoggies September 15, 2013 / 5:23 pm

      It is pretty fabulous and as much as I love travelling, we’ve got it pretty good where we live. Send the rain our way Jo, my garden is crying out for it but so far, not a drop. Hope the weather improves, I know how much you love your sunny days πŸ™‚

  3. Jackie Cangro September 21, 2013 / 9:58 am

    I would never get tired of photos of birds and flowers! These are beautiful shots. There are a few that remind me of Florida, especially the ones with the palm trees and the ibis and the egret. Happy Spring!

    • twoblackdoggies September 24, 2013 / 4:45 pm

      Thank you, so great to hear because I never get tired of photographing birds and flowers πŸ™‚ I’ve always imagined that parts of Queensland are like Florida, I believe it is a similar climate.

  4. Sheila September 24, 2013 / 5:45 am

    Wow – I can’t imagine a koala next door! I love that blue of the Pukeko. It’s true that it’s always good to get away, but nice to explore at home too. Happy spring!

    • twoblackdoggies September 24, 2013 / 4:48 pm

      Thanks Sheila. It is pretty special having such a creature next door, we see koalas rarely where we live, the progress of roads and residential development is destroying their habitat. Exploring home can be lots of fun, I’m trying to do a bit more of it lately and hope to share it with you.

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

