My first time…photographing a wedding

On Friday I spent the day photographing the wedding of a good friend, it isn’t something I normally do because I am not a wedding photography. This I did as a favour and because the couple did not expect or want formal, studio quality photographs – if it wasn’t me taking the photos it would have been my husband and he has even less experience. I have photographed a wedding once before, but it was as a second photographer – more of a sidekick really, to a much more experience photographer who was happy to have me along.

The nerves kicked in early in the morning and hung around until the ceremony, afterwards it wasn’t so bad and that has more to do with the fact that the bridal party were wonderful, they had fun, they laughed and smiled and not once did they appear to be tired of having their picture taken. It was one of the most enjoyable, relaxed weddings I have ever been to and also one of the smallest, making it easier to get a group shot at the reception and to make sure that everyone had their chance to have a photograph taken with the happy couple.

The bride and groom already have printed copies of the shots that I’m sharing with you, they’re off on their honeymoon today and will visit family overseas so I wanted them to have something to take with them. Is wedding photography something I would want to do more often, probably not, the stress would kill me however, it is wonderful to experience such a joyful occasion and to be able to capture the moment for friends.

19 thoughts on “My first time…photographing a wedding

    • twoblackdoggies October 14, 2013 / 12:57 pm

      Thanks TSL! I’m very happy with the results and yes, the bride looked beautiful – the huge smile on her face all day really made her glow.

    • twoblackdoggies October 16, 2013 / 4:10 pm

      Thank you! I tried hard and am glad you liked them 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies October 16, 2013 / 4:15 pm

      Thank you, it was a beautiful day and the gallery feature is great for showing off the photos.

    • twoblackdoggies October 16, 2013 / 4:17 pm

      Thanks Emily, I tried and thankfully the nerves disappeared after a while, made easier by the bridal party, they were wonderful.

  1. restlessjo October 14, 2013 / 4:02 am

    What a lovely wedding, Sam. Your shots are beautiful 🙂 Phew!

    • twoblackdoggies October 16, 2013 / 4:18 pm

      A hug Phew! Thank you Jo. It was a truly lovely wedding 🙂

  2. Ogee October 14, 2013 / 3:52 pm

    Awesome shots! Second career calling. No need for nerves!

    • twoblackdoggies October 16, 2013 / 4:12 pm

      Thank you, you are so kind. Not sure I could cope with the stress of being a full time wedding photographer but I wouldn’t mind learning more about the genre.

  3. Sheila October 16, 2013 / 1:46 am

    Wow – those are really beautiful. You captured all the happiness and excitement of a wedding. They’re much better than the ones taken at my wedding by a supposed professional. Maybe that nervousness would go away after a while.

    • twoblackdoggies October 16, 2013 / 4:14 pm

      Thank you very much Sheila, I tried to capture the emotion without getting in their faces (or the guests), they were such a wonderful couple to photograph. Maybe the nervousness would go away, goodness knows how many more weddings I’d have the jitters for though 🙂

  4. megtraveling October 18, 2013 / 10:15 am

    The pictures are so beautiful, and I’m sure the bride and groom are delighted with them!

    • twoblackdoggies October 21, 2013 / 6:24 am

      Thank you Meg, they are very happy with them which is extremely satisfying for me 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies November 4, 2013 / 9:27 pm

      Thank you and you’re most welcome, you have an amazing eye for what makes a great image – your photos are wonderful.

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

