Bondi Beach Street Art

Bondi Icebergs Swimming Club
Bondi Icebergs Swimming Club

Bondi Beach is one of Australia’s most popular and well known beaches, located in eastern Sydney, Bondi is accessible by bus and train and during the summer the beach is jam-packed with locals, tourists and back packers all eager to develop their tans and do a spot of people watching. When I lived in Sydney I rarely went to Bondi, our local beach was at Cronulla and ratio of sand to people was alot higher so there was always plenty of room to move.

Bondi is currently a landing point for people wanting to experience Sculpture by the Sea, but once you’ve finished checking out the amazing 3D art forms there is still plenty of art to see along Bondi’s esplanade. Not wanting to swim or fuss around with membership requirements, My Dad and I bypassed Bondi Icebergs Swimming Club and headed to the strip of cafes and shops opposite the beach, we enjoyed a tasty lunch served with a smile at the Lamrock Cafe,  around the corner from one amazing piece of street art done by Mr G. Mr G is known for his paintings and illustrations of dogs and I had been following his ‘dogathon‘ of paintings for quite sometime prompting me to ask the waitress about the location of a particular mural he painted titled Happy Staffys.

When asked why he painted dogs, Mr G replied:

Because dogs are bloody awesome, that’s why.

I couldn’t agree more so I left Dad sitting in the shade of a tree while I went in search of the Happy Staffys and discovered some other amazing street art.

Enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Bondi Beach Street Art

  1. travelingwithlyn.com November 2, 2013 / 10:41 am

    Yes I agree 100%. Dogs are awesome. The more I know the more I love my little Buddy

  2. This Sydney Life November 2, 2013 / 10:43 am

    Dogs ARE awesome, but we bypass Bondi by parking at Bronte and head to Swell for brunch after the sculpture walk. Bella likes doing that, too. They love dogs at Swell.

    • twoblackdoggies November 2, 2013 / 1:38 pm

      Sounds great, I don’t know the area terribly well but finding dog friendly cafes is always a plus. The Lamrock was dog friendly as well, they even had a bowl of water for thirsty pooches.

    • twoblackdoggies November 2, 2013 / 1:39 pm

      There were plenty more to see however I didn’t want to leave my Dad sitting by himself for too long, he gets a bit bored unless he has a newspaper to read 🙂

  3. megtraveling November 2, 2013 / 11:42 am

    Those dogs look very friendly – great pictures!

    • twoblackdoggies November 2, 2013 / 1:40 pm

      Thanks! Staffys are very friendly dogs, I love their big goofy grins – the mural put a huge smile on my face 🙂

  4. Misaki November 3, 2013 / 8:34 pm

    They are amazing!

  5. Jackie Cangro November 4, 2013 / 10:14 am

    Love Mr. G’s street art. That put a smile on my face. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Also what an awesome pool!!

    • twoblackdoggies November 4, 2013 / 9:35 pm

      You’re welcome! Mr G is a talented artist, his work always puts a smile of face – one of joy and admiration for his work. That swimming pool is incredible, made me want to jump in and go for a swim 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

