In response to Kevin Pietersen’s sledge, we explain why there is so much to love about Brisbane | News.com.au

Apparently English cricket play Kevin Pietersen had never heard of Brisbane, even though he has played there before, but that’s ok because I’d never heard of Kevin Pietersen up until now. Anyway, a journalist has written a ‘tongue in cheek’ article about the great things in Brisbane, inciting rage among many Brisbane locals who have taken offence and vented their rage in the comment section. I can see the funny side, have a read and let me know what you think – has the author gone too far?

In response to Kevin Pietersen’s sledge, we explain why there is so much to love about Brisbane | News.com.au.

6 thoughts on “In response to Kevin Pietersen’s sledge, we explain why there is so much to love about Brisbane | News.com.au

  1. This Sydney Life November 20, 2013 / 1:30 pm

    As a Kiwi living in Australia (who has to put up with Kiwi jokes from the Aussie boys I live with constantly), let’s just say I wouldn’t have written it but I think some of the more vitriolic responses were a little extreme…

    Oh, and I know where Brisbane is. I’ve even visited more than once!

    • twoblackdoggies November 20, 2013 / 7:11 pm

      So true, I’m NSW born and bred with Kiwi family so I’ve heard a few of those sort of jokes as well 🙂

      I love going to Brisbane, there are some fantastic and quirky places to visit and it is the closest capital city to us making it easier to access wonderful art exhibitions, performances and events that we don’t have locally.

  2. Debra Kolkka November 20, 2013 / 4:04 pm

    If he was trying to be funny he missed the boat.

    • twoblackdoggies November 20, 2013 / 7:15 pm

      I could see what he was trying to do but I think he took it too far down the derogatory humour path rather than just taking the mickey out of Brisbane in a Kath and Kim type of way. Some of the photos didn’t help either.

  3. Travelling with Lyn November 21, 2013 / 3:16 pm

    Each time I have visitors from overseas and I see Brisbane through their eyes while I am showing it off I realise what a fabulous place it is. There is something to suit every taste in Brisbane. And. We have pretty fantastic weather most of the time Lyn

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

