A Koala at our house!

This morning I noticed what looked like a furry, brown bottom in the fork of a eucalyptus tree to the left of our front yard, to my great delight it was the cute little bottom of a koala. We’ve been living in our house for over 7 years and have seen few koalas, we’ve seen plenty of possums, wallabies, lizards and birdlife but was only my second sighting of a koala in the bushland next door. As you can imagine, there was much excitement and I quickly ran for my camera as did a friend who had been visiting. We stood at the bottom of that tree for ages, taking photos from every possible angle, I even braved the scrubby surroundings beneath the tree (there could have been snakes or spiders concealed) to get a closer look. With so many photos of this gorgeous creature I couldn’t choose just a couple of shots to share 🙂

The little fella slept, scratched and slept some more, moving occasionally to escape the heat of the sun. It was hard going back indoors knowing that we could miss any attempt he or she made at relocating. Being such a hot day with temperatures predicted to reach the high 30s (degrees celsius), I decided to leave a bucket of water at the base of the tree in case the koala was thirsty when he or she eventually moved on.

Now it is late in the afternoon and I have been to check on the koala and our little furry bottomed friend is happily munching on eucalyptus leaves high in the tree. Although it is absolutely wonderful to see one of our native animals in the natural habitat, I hope the koala moves deeper into the bush where it is less likely that he’ll be injured by dogs or hit by a car.

26 thoughts on “A Koala at our house!

    • twoblackdoggies February 16, 2014 / 8:34 pm

      Thank you, it is a great thing to be able to photograph such a gorgeous creature.

  1. ghetran February 15, 2014 / 8:31 pm

    Awwwww!;-) Gorgeous!

  2. Debra Kolkka February 15, 2014 / 8:47 pm

    He is gorgeous! How exciting to find one so close to home.

    • twoblackdoggies February 16, 2014 / 8:32 pm

      He is my latest obsession, I love watching him sleep and make his way up and down the branches of the tree. It is exciting and delightful to have him around.

  3. justmadstuff February 15, 2014 / 9:42 pm

    Oh my goodness ❤ How simply adorable !

    • twoblackdoggies February 16, 2014 / 8:28 pm

      I know, it is awesome and I love having these beautiful creatures so close.

    • twoblackdoggies February 16, 2014 / 8:27 pm

      It is so very cool, such a wonderful and rare experience for us.

  4. fredrieka February 16, 2014 / 1:38 am

    they look so cuddly..

    • twoblackdoggies February 16, 2014 / 8:25 pm

      They do look very soft and cuddly but they have very sharp claws which can do quite a bit of damage.

      • fredrieka February 17, 2014 / 2:03 am

        Yike so I will not hug one if it comes along my path. Which I doubt since I live a long way away

  5. restlessjo February 16, 2014 / 5:34 am

    The close ups are amazing, Sam 🙂 What a privilege!

    • twoblackdoggies February 16, 2014 / 8:24 pm

      Thanks Jo, a digital SLR comes in handy on these occasions. Having that little fella so close really is something special, he is on his second day and I can’t help but look for him when I walk out the door 🙂

  6. Misaki February 17, 2014 / 5:31 am

    Awww what a cutie!

  7. cominghomerescue February 18, 2014 / 5:51 am

    WOW! You live in an amazing house if koalas are in your backyard.

    • twoblackdoggies February 18, 2014 / 8:54 am

      We don’t see them very often so it is quite amazing to have one so close. The koala has now left that tree and gone deeper into the bush, possibly on the trail of more delicious eucalyptus leaves. We are pretty lucky to see lots of different animals where we live although the most common are birds, lizards and snakes.

  8. megtraveling February 19, 2014 / 1:21 pm

    Fantastic pictures! I’m so glad that you got so many photos of that koala – it is really cute… 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies February 21, 2014 / 11:38 am

      Thanks Meg. I’m so glad he was so accommodating in posing so beautifully for me, he didn’t move much unless it was to shift positions or have a scratch.

  9. dutchgoesitalian March 22, 2014 / 8:34 pm

    Oh wow…I think I’m in love ❤ !! How lucky to have seen this perfect creature so close to home, but I agree with you that it's better for the koala to move deeper into the bush…
    Still….wow!!

    • twoblackdoggies March 23, 2014 / 9:19 am

      That very beautiful creature is back, I spotted him sleeping in a nearby tree this morning. Koala watch starts again 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

