One of these things is not like the others…

On a memory card filled with photos of birds I discovered a forgotten image, captured from within the boundaries of our yard. As you can see it is the odd one out.

Baby Lace Monitor - Goanna
Baby Lace Monitor – Goanna
Geese at the lake
Geese keeping a watchful eye on visitors to the lake
Black Swan and duck
Black Swan and duck
Duck
I call him Donald
Black swan
Majestic and friendly Black Swan
A sunset swim for a local flock of geese
A sunset swim for a local flock of geese
Black and white Magpie Geese
Black and white Magpie Geese
10 thoughts on “One of these things is not like the others…

  1. George Weaver February 23, 2014 / 7:25 pm

    Beautiful swans and geese and ducks! All together! I’ve never seen Magpie Geese before. They’re way interesting! I love the sunlight on the palm where they are standing. Such nice light!

    • twoblackdoggies February 25, 2014 / 3:18 pm

      Thanks George, I took these on an afternoon walk as the sun was setting. It is a really lovely mix of birds in that park, there are several other types of bird but they’re a bit skittish and hard to photograph when one hand is holding a dog leash. I had to Google the Magpie Geese, hope I got it right 🙂

  2. fredrieka February 23, 2014 / 10:16 pm

    I love barking at snakes… I go absolutely crazy…

    • twoblackdoggies February 25, 2014 / 3:19 pm

      I know another black dog who does the same thing!

  3. restlessjo February 24, 2014 / 9:13 am

    Those Magpie geese look quite heavy for those trees! I expect they’ve balanced there a time or two, Sam 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies February 25, 2014 / 3:24 pm

      You’re right Jo, they do look too heavy. I don’t see them up there often which is why they caught my eye this time, usually only the ibis loiter on the trees like that. There was a time when we hardly saw those geese but they’ve become regular visitors of late.

  4. megtraveling February 27, 2014 / 12:08 pm

    Those are some unusual birds – I especially like Donald… Great pictures!

    • twoblackdoggies March 1, 2014 / 12:40 pm

      Thanks Meg. Donald is pretty cool, he hangs out in that spot all the time and lets me get reasonably close.

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

