The blue girl

2014 was going to be the year of the portrait for me, not having done one for many years I was keen to apply my developing pastel skills and complete at least one portrait this year. It was a little nerve wracking, I’m a bit of a perfectionist and had lost confidence in my illustration skills over the years (hence the art lessons) however recent success with portraits of my dogs had given me a boost.

The girl in the portrait is the child of a friend, a happy child with very pale, translucent looking skin. In order to capture the translucence and innocence I started with a blue wash and then built up the pastel, trying to steer clear of creating too much contrast in her features because it has a tendency to make a young child look much older. It took several weeks to complete, class is only once a week and I don’t do any drawing at home which slows me down immensely.

Pastel portrait of a child
Portrait of a child

The end result is that she looks a little blue, but I quite like it and am happy with how it has turned out and hope that the parents will be too.

14 thoughts on “The blue girl

  1. dontdoubtthedog June 13, 2014 / 10:28 pm

    Yes a little blue but charming. Don’t let your fears, anxieties or worries keep you from achieving your goals. Keep at it and go for it!

  2. megtraveling June 16, 2014 / 5:24 am

    Very sweet picture and well done. This must have been fun for you!

    • twoblackdoggies June 17, 2014 / 11:51 am

      Thank you Meg, it was fun and I learned alot in the process 🙂

  3. restlessjo June 17, 2014 / 4:23 pm

    It’s wonderful! It looks like a very real and lively little girl. Mission accomplished 🙂 I wish I was a paintbrush behind you. I’m barely allowed to put paint on the walls at home!

    • twoblackdoggies June 18, 2014 / 4:25 pm

      LOL! Thanks Jo!

      My dad used to let us paint with water on the concrete footpath as kids, it was fun and he didn’t have to worry about fixing it 🙂

  4. Misaki June 19, 2014 / 5:22 am

    It’s lovely:-)

  5. margieinitaly June 19, 2014 / 11:36 am

    You are so talented, Sam – Such a lovely portrait -the child looks very real and I am sure her parents will love it! Thank you also for checking out my blog recently and I hope you get to Italy again soon. Did not realize the high cost of airfare from Australia!

    • twoblackdoggies June 20, 2014 / 2:36 pm

      Thank you Margie, hopefully I will get another one or two portraits done this year 🙂

      You’re welcome, I do enjoy reading your blog but have been somewhat distracted over the last couple of months and my reading and blogging has slowed down. I hope we get to Italy soon, we would visit every year if it wasn’t so expensive to get there and the flights can be 25 to 40 hours long depending on the route and stops. In the meantime I’ll live vicariously through blogs such as yours 🙂

  6. Marko June 21, 2014 / 5:58 am

    I warmly greet you and invite you to watch a new photo album on my blog. Have a nice weekend!

    • twoblackdoggies July 8, 2014 / 7:13 pm

      Thank you Marko, will be happy to look at your new photos – so many lovely images on your blog.

  7. George Weaver June 24, 2014 / 3:45 am

    Ah, you’ve captured her personality, I think. I like it, Sam. 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies July 8, 2014 / 7:13 pm

      Thanks George, I tried and I’m so glad you like it 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

