Using Lightroom for processing my photos

Photoshop came into my life in the early nineties, at the time I was in my last year of a degree in graphic design and had just bought an Apple LCIII with an 80MB hard drive. Since graduating there has been numerous upgrades to the software and my computers and I moved from using Photoshop for processing photographs to Lightroom. Lightroom doesn’t have the millions of features that Photoshop has but it is sufficient for most things I want to do and the interface is easier to use, and it has the added bonus of being alot cheaper.

There are heaps of tips and video tutorials available for users of Lightroom, and a few days ago I came across a short YouTube clip demonstrating how to add a bit of oomph to my images. The technique is quite simple, boost saturation of the Blue Primary in your Camera Calibration menu.  Below is the video tutorial by Trevor Dayley:

Although it may not be suitable for all images, you can choose the level of saturation and it does work quite well with my landscape photographs. Below are a couple of before and after pictures so you can see the difference. I’d love to know what you think, does it work for you? Which image do you prefer?

Having coffee in Riomaggiore, Italy
The Hubby ‘before’ pic with only minor adjustments made and no adjusting of the blue primary.
The before pic with only minor adjustments made and 100% saturation with blue primary.
The Hubby ‘after’ pic with only minor adjustments made and 100% saturation with blue primary.
Vernazza at dusk
The Vernazza ‘before’ pic with only minor adjustments made and no adjusting of the blue primary.
The Vernazza 'after' pic with only minor adjustments made and 100% saturation of the blue primary.
The Vernazza ‘after’ pic with only minor adjustments made and 100% saturation of the blue primary.
8 thoughts on “Using Lightroom for processing my photos

  1. Fabulous Fur Friends October 2, 2014 / 3:59 pm

    I think they all look majical! That probably doesn’t help you much though!!

  2. restlessjo October 6, 2014 / 7:04 pm

    Yes, it does give it more va-va-va-voom, Sam, doesn’t it? I am notoriously lazy about processing. I post so many images that they just have to go out ‘as is’ but I do feel the lack sometimes. I will come back and look at the tutorial after I’ve caught up with my walkers. 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies October 11, 2014 / 2:34 pm

      I was quite surprised, a technique so simple although easy to over do it Jo 🙂 I probably spend too much time processing images when I could be outside taking more especially as the weather warms up 🙂

  3. megtraveling October 7, 2014 / 10:42 am

    The “after” pictures are just dazzling but I like all of them!

    • twoblackdoggies October 11, 2014 / 2:34 pm

      Thanks Meg! It does give them that little bit extra but when the subject matter is Italy it is hard not to love them regardless 🙂

  4. Lyn October 7, 2014 / 11:13 am

    Thanks for sharing this great info

    • twoblackdoggies October 11, 2014 / 2:35 pm

      You’re welcome! I’ve now subscribed to Trevor’s Youtube channel so I get even more useful tips 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

