47 sleeps ’til Christmas

Hard to believe that the year is almost over and that Christmas is looming. It has been such a busy year and so far the forecast for next year is not alot different, plenty to do and plenty of change. I love Christmas, I hate all of the rushing around and stress that it brings however all the worry tends to dissipate on Christmas Day when family and friends are together. My cousin N also loves Christmas, while I tend to be a bit of a minimalist N goes all out decorating her home and tree so when she came to stay recently a visit to the local Christmas Shop was a must.

The Christmas Shop is more like a warehouse, baubles, trees and lights adorn every inch of space and if you’re after santa suits or elf costumes there are plenty to choose from as well. Being the crazy dog lady that I am, the reindeer antlers for Maxi and Bundy were the first things that landed in my shopping basket. You have to admit, as embarrassed as our two black dogs appear, they really do look cute and the photos will look great on our family Christmas card :-). Our two black dogs always get presents from Santa, I even bought them stockings to put the presents in although Maxi won’t be getting any delicious treats this year, the last thing we want is for her to end up in hospital again.

It is too early to set up the Christmas tree, we always put it up on December 1st and then spend a weekend hanging up Christmas lights in our backyard. At the moment it is hard to imagine our yard decorated with lights, the heat and dry winds has turned our lawn brown and there are a few odd jobs around the house that are best done in the cool of the evening. I’ve always wondered what a white Christmas would be like, it certainly seems more festive when you see images of the Christmas markets in Europe and watch Christmas movies that are set in cooler climates.

How do you prepare for the festive season? Do you inflict costumes on your pets and buy them presents?

12 thoughts on “47 sleeps ’til Christmas

  1. fredrieka November 8, 2014 / 10:21 pm

    woof, woof, woof I will get a new bone woof

  2. Dan Traun November 8, 2014 / 10:33 pm

    Maxi & Buddy look great. My wife and I have horns for our two dachshunds. It cracks me up every year.

    • twoblackdoggies November 9, 2014 / 6:29 am

      I love dressing them up at Christmas, they looks so indignant that I take even more photos πŸ™‚ I imagine that your dogs would be extremely cute in costume.

  3. dontdoubtthedog November 8, 2014 / 10:44 pm

    No xmas costumes for me but I do get xmas day presents. We don’t always have a white xmas but it usually is cold on xmas day. We have a freshly cut xmas tree all decorated with lights and xmas balls and then we have xmas lights up outside in the front and back of the house. The rest of the house inside has various xmas decorations and the dining room table is decorated as a miniature xmas village. I love xmas!

    • twoblackdoggies November 13, 2014 / 7:34 am

      Thanks! I just couldn’t resist and yesterday I saw elf and Santa outfits for dogs which was really tempting, but I think the dogs (and hubby) would be most unimpressed πŸ˜‰

  4. Misaki November 13, 2014 / 8:14 am

    Love the reindeer ears! I hate anything on my head, but mummy is talking about getting me some santa cuffs for my paws – not sure what I’ll make of those!

    • twoblackdoggies November 26, 2014 / 7:57 pm

      Santa cuffs would be very cute on you, there are also Christmas collars with bells on them that might match the cuffs πŸ™‚

  5. restlessjo November 26, 2014 / 7:55 am

    Christmas at your house looks fun πŸ™‚ I don’t do anything wildly extravagant. Just a real tree so it’s usually not up till second week or so of December. And lots of cards round the Delft rack. Quiet really. And all that cooking 😦

    • twoblackdoggies November 26, 2014 / 8:06 pm

      Our house would like completely over the top if we had all those lights and decorations, but it is fun looking at them and we did get a few decorations. I don’t mind having a quiet Christmas, this year will be big and busy with lots of family πŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

