Big snake, full belly

With all of the bushland surrounding the local shelter it isn’t unusual to see a variety of creatures other than dogs, cats, birds and guinea pigs. Most days you can see a few wallabies, plenty of ibis, bush turkeys and magpies however, on occasion you do get to see green tree snakes or a python. I’m not sure what sort of python is residing at the shelter, it is possibly a carpet python or a diamond python, whatever the type it certainly has a full belly as you can see from these photos.

python in tree

python in tree

python in tree

It is moments like this when I wish I had my DSLR, the iphone digital zoom is really not great and there was no way on this earth that I was going to climb the tree to get a better view. If you think you know what sort of snake it is, please leave a comment and let me know.

Happy Sunday!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Big snake, full belly

  1. Debra Kolkka February 15, 2015 / 6:19 pm

    It is probably a carpet snake…quite harmless.

    • twoblackdoggies February 17, 2015 / 5:29 pm

      I don’t mind seeing them around, we had one slithering its way along our fence and Bundy barked at it until it went over the fence into the neighbours yard 🙂

  2. fredrieka February 15, 2015 / 10:04 pm

    yikes

  3. Jackie Cangro February 16, 2015 / 12:15 am

    That is quite a sight! I’m glad his belly is full — he won’t be looking for a meal anytime soon. 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies February 17, 2015 / 5:27 pm

      He shows up every now and then but I’ve never seen him in the tree with a full belly so it was quite amazing. That meal will keep him going a while, he can sleep it off 🙂

  4. dontdoubtthedog February 16, 2015 / 12:45 am

    Very nice but I agree no matter what they say about the improvements on smart phone cameras they just don’t cut it when compared to a dedicated quality camera. That stomach is pretty full there. You sure you aren’t missing any pets? 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies February 17, 2015 / 5:26 pm

      Thank you. Smart phones are great for those moments when you don’t have or don’t want to carry a DSLR but I do love the quality and control I can get out of my camera. The shelter looks after guinea pigs and rats so I’m hoping none of them are missing.

  5. Lyn February 16, 2015 / 5:55 pm

    Looks like it has had a good meal

    • twoblackdoggies February 17, 2015 / 5:23 pm

      It certainly does, just hoping it is not one of the little creatures looked after by the shelter.

    • twoblackdoggies February 18, 2015 / 8:12 pm

      I know how you feel, I’m ok when they’re not too close 😊

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

