Book cover by Canva

This evening I read about Canva and Pablo on the WordPress daily post, both of them are free design tools that can be used to create all manner of graphics. Starting with Canva tutorial I learned the basics and decided that it was an application worth investigating further in order to design photo book covers for my collection of images taken overseas 4 years ago. And yes, I am very slow at producing photo books 🙂

Canva is quite easy to use and comes with numerous templates, graphics and ideas, many of them available free. It is a drag and drop application and although it took me a couple of minutes to grasp how to adjust single images in a layout template, the speed at which I could design a cover made me think that I may never have to use Indesign again, at least not for something so simple as a photo book cover. If you haven’t already checked Canva out, you’ll realise how popular it must be as soon as you see some of the sample graphics, they’re the type that you see all over Pinterest on food photographs and motivational images.

Here’s how my first cover turned out, the design is for a book of photographs taken in Venice, Varenna and Vernazza, three beautiful destinations in Italy that are located on the water. This design probably won’t be the final one because I had the dimensions wrong but it took only 20 minutes (most of that was spent waiting for images to upload) and I’ve learned something new today which is always a good thing.

What do you think? Is Canva something you would bother with?

Venice, Varenna and Vernazza photobook cover artwork
Photo book cover created using Canva
18 thoughts on “Book cover by Canva

  1. Lyn May 31, 2015 / 5:08 pm

    Very interesting. I admire these graphics but never investigate them as I always think they are too hard. Well done

    • twoblackdoggies June 1, 2015 / 6:17 pm

      Thanks. The application does take some of the hard work out of it 😊

  2. fredrieka May 31, 2015 / 8:22 pm

    wow these are pawsome very bright

  3. Sheila June 3, 2015 / 3:57 am

    Wow – that’s stunning and it makes me want to open it right up. It’s great to know about any design tools like this for book covers – thank you!

    • twoblackdoggies June 5, 2015 / 4:41 pm

      Thank you and you’re welcome! It is fun just playing with the features, but so handy having an easy way of creating book covers that look better than the basic template provided by many photo book applications. Have fun 🙂

  4. alexis3907 June 3, 2015 / 4:16 am

    Thanks Sam. Funny I’m just now reading a Buffer post about using Canva and I’m going to try it out with my social channels. Your images look great ! 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies June 17, 2015 / 8:09 pm

      You’re welcome, it has a couple of slightly buggy features but so easy to use overall especially when you compare it to using Illustrator and photoshop 🙂

  5. ishitasood June 3, 2015 / 5:53 pm

    Very interesting! So wonderful to chance upon your blog through Lyn’s blog. I blog on Italy too. Just came from a recent trip from Italy. Hope you like to read them 🙂

    ishitasood.blogspot.in

    • twoblackdoggies June 5, 2015 / 4:44 pm

      Thank you for taking the time to stop by, that is the beauty of the blogging community, makes it easy to find more people blogging about things you love 🙂 I will definitely spend time reading your blog, I love Italy and am always interested in reading about other people’s travel experiences.

      • ishitasood June 5, 2015 / 5:08 pm

        I agree :0 So much fun right? Thank you for visiting my blog in advance 😀 I love Italy ❤ Hope you like my travels!

      • ishitasood June 9, 2015 / 3:05 pm

        Thank you so much in advance! let me know how you like it. I am also on Instagra by the name Italophilia!

  6. restlessjo June 3, 2015 / 10:44 pm

    Looks great Sam 🙂 I must set aside some time to play with this (not this week- trouble is I always say that 😦 )

    • twoblackdoggies June 5, 2015 / 4:47 pm

      Thanks Jo. I know what you mean, I have lots of things I want to spend time on but find that I get distracted by so many other things. Have a great weekend Jo, hope the weather is kind to you and you have more fascinating walks to share 🙂

  7. megtraveling June 9, 2015 / 9:03 pm

    The cover is beautiful – I like your subject because I just got back from Italy. I already want to go back!

    • twoblackdoggies June 14, 2015 / 6:13 pm

      Thanks Meg and welcome home. Italy always beckons 🙂

  8. Cherie Basile July 23, 2015 / 11:17 pm

    Thank you for the software tips. Your photobook cover is beautiful. I’d like to do some photobooks and a recipe book of my mum’s old recipes for the family. Feeling inspired, thank you : )

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

