Almost done

A while ago I shared photos of our house and the rooms we were renovating, we’ve been living with dust and stepping over boxes for some time now but I’m happy to say that it is almost over. I underestimated how much headspace renovating would consume and the time it would take to arrange to get things done such as plumbing, tiling and plastering. There has been frustration and tears, at times it all seemed too overwhelming and I wondered if we were ever going to move out of the spare room.

My parents spent a week with us in order to help get some of the work done, while Mum was busy packing up my office, washing walls and cleaning windows, Dad and I were painting walls. Over a 3 day weekend we achieved quite a bit, however our hearts sank when we found what appeared to be termite damage in two bedrooms. Termites and wet rot had worked together to disintegrate the baseplate in 3 walls, it meant that we couldn’t paint those rooms and the flooring could not be laid either. Thankfully Fred, our termite inspection man was available to check everything and confirm that there were no living termites, the activity was old and we just needed to replace the timber baseplate and install new gyprock on the walls. It has slowed us down a little, I was hoping to have things back to normal by the end of September however it might not be possible, thank goodness Dad was here as he was able to tell us exactly what we needed to get done and in what order. It is very handy having a Dad who has worked in the building industry for most of his life and Mum has always been a hard worker, we could never have gotten this far without them 🙂

I’ve learned one thing from this experience, DIY is not for me (although painting is ok) and there is no way that I would ever consider auditioning for one of those reality tv shows like “The Block”. Anyway, enough talking, here are a few photos of our almost complete rooms.

13 thoughts on “Almost done

  1. Fabulous Fur Friends September 13, 2015 / 4:00 pm

    Wow, that looks fantastic! Good job….despite all the anxiety & inconvenience, it looks as though it’s been worth the mess. Now you can enjoy it.

    • twoblackdoggies September 20, 2015 / 6:30 am

      Thank you, it has been well worth the mess and I’m looking forward to making the most of our new space 🙂

  2. Cherie Basile September 13, 2015 / 6:20 pm

    Wow. Good work, all of you. I know exactly how much work that is, and the toll it takes. But this is beautiful and full of love and support and excitement. I love it. (My favourite bit is the doggy cushion : ))

    • twoblackdoggies September 20, 2015 / 6:32 am

      Thanks Cherie. It’s almost over and I’m very happy with how everything is looking and it is nice to have more functional spaces. I love my doggy cushion too! 🙂

  3. Ogee September 14, 2015 / 1:00 am

    Well, you may not want to do it again – but you have done a stunning job!

    • twoblackdoggies September 20, 2015 / 6:33 am

      Thank you! We had good tradespeople to work with and they did all the hard work, I just picked the colours 🙂

      • Ogee September 20, 2015 / 2:00 pm

        Been through it…I know better! A thousand decisions gets it done. 🙂

  4. Lyn September 14, 2015 / 6:00 am

    Your have done a beautiful job.

    • twoblackdoggies September 20, 2015 / 6:33 am

      Thank you, we’re very happy with how it has all turned out 🙂

  5. megtraveling September 21, 2015 / 3:55 am

    Everything looks gorgeous – I always wondered what it’s like to be on one of those renovation shows!

    • twoblackdoggies September 25, 2015 / 6:23 pm

      Thanks Meg 🙂 I think a renovation show would be far too stressful for me, plus I prefer being behind the camera rather than in front.

  6. restlessjo September 26, 2015 / 5:21 am

    It does look beautiful and you must be so pleased with the results, Sam. I hate the mess it takes to get there. I need a fairy godmother to come in and do mine while my back is turned. 🙂

    • twoblackdoggies September 26, 2015 / 6:06 pm

      Thanks Jo and I am very pleased, the mess has been driving me crazy and I will be glad when I finish some painting and can move everything back to where it belongs. A fairy godmother would be awesome! 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

