Taking pleasure in the simple things

On a recent stroll around the lake I noticed a plethora of spider webs dripping in dew and sparkling in the sunlight. The delicate webs were clinging to trees, long grass and anything else that would hold those sticky strands. Each creation varied greatly in shape and size and I couldn’t help but admire them although had I walked through one I may have felt differently.

It is mornings like this that make me realise how much I love being close to nature and how the simplest things can put a smile on my face.

Do you understand how there could be any writing in a spider’s web?
Oh, no,” said Dr. Dorian. “I don’t understand it. But for that matter I don’t understand how a spider learned to spin a web in the first place. When the words appeared, everyone said they were a miracle. But nobody pointed out that the web itself is a miracle.
What’s miraculous about a spider’s web?” said Mrs. Arable. “I don’t see why you say a web is a miracle – it’s just a web.
Ever try to spin one?” asked Dr. Dorian.

― E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

6 thoughts on “Taking pleasure in the simple things

  1. Cherie Basile July 12, 2017 / 7:22 pm

    oh [in very small voice]. your pictures took my breath away. beautiful. and you are so right.

    • Two Black Dogs July 18, 2017 / 5:54 am

      Thank you Cherie, it was a ‘take my breath away’ kind of morning 🙂

    • Two Black Dogs July 18, 2017 / 5:55 am

      Thank you! Nature provides incredible inspiration 🙂

  2. restlessjo July 18, 2017 / 6:50 am

    Love the quote from Charlotte’s Web, Sam. 🙂 🙂 I’m quite timid where spiders are concerned but dew or rain does make their webs amazing. How are you doing? Still really busy?

    • Two Black Dogs July 19, 2017 / 8:18 pm

      One of my favourite stories asa child and I love the movie that was released several years ago 🙂 I’m not fond of spiders at all but watching them weave their webs is quite incredible and seeing them with droplets of water hanging off them always makes me stop in my tracks. Lots happening at work and I’m trying to find my focus but struggling, it will get better eventually 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.

