Sunny afternoon in St Andrews Botanic Gardens

One of the many paths that lead through the Botanic Gardens, St Andrews Scotland.
One of the many paths that lead through the Botanic Gardens, St Andrews Scotland.

St Andrews, Scotland is well known for it’s golf course however there is plenty for a visitor to do if they’re not interested in chasing a little white ball around a paddock. There are castle and cathedral ruins overlooking the sea, as well as delightful little cafes and cobblestone streets. After a morning sketching a church and doing a little shopping in the centre of St Andrews we headed out of the centre to the Botanic Gardens for a picnic lunch and a few hours of quiet in the gardens.

The Botanic Gardens aren’t huge however they are full of brilliant coloured blooms in Spring, some of which I had seen before such as Rhododendrons. The sun was shining and local students appeared to be making the most of the warmth, lying on the grass studying or just ‘hanging out’. As a small group we scattered quickly after lunch, each of us going our own way and doing whatever we wanted. I chose not to sit and draw, and instead kept my camera at the ready because there were so many flowers to see and paths to explore. A couple of ducks caught my attention at one stage, the female splashing around in the water while the male seemed more content to strut around the pond. A heron also became the focus of my attention, I stalked him/her all around one pond trying to capture them in flight however I didn’t not have a fast enough shutter speed and most of the action shots are fuzzy. Big fat bumblebees are always a delight to see although the most amusing creatures in the gardens were not alive, they were carvings and sculptures dotted among the trees. The red squirrel sculpture was as close as I got to this endangered creature, I didn’t even see the more common grey squirrel during my time in Scotland.

As I wandered around the gardens I ran into several of my fellow travelling artists, most of them thoroughly enjoying the peaceful surrounds and the opportunity to draw something other than a church or castle. Hopefully the many photographs I took will serve a inspiration for my artwork in the future. In the meantime I hope you enjoy my walk through the garden.

 

9 thoughts on “Sunny afternoon in St Andrews Botanic Gardens

  1. Letizia June 25, 2016 / 9:35 pm

    Lovely photos, thanks for taking us on this journey.

    • twoblackdoggies June 26, 2016 / 3:34 pm

      You’re welcome! I’m so glad you liked my photos, thank you.

  2. anyone4curryandotherthings June 26, 2016 / 2:42 am

    Sadly I never had the chance to visit beautiful Scotland, and the famous Botanical Garden always interested me. So glad that through your camera and with your artists eyes I am at least able to “visit”. Thank you, Carina

    • twoblackdoggies June 26, 2016 / 3:37 pm

      You are most welcome Carina. It is a beautiful country and I hope that you may still get the chance to visit Scotland, especially in Spring when the woodlands are filled with bluebells and the gardens are full of colour. Thank you for the lovely comment and I am happy that you enjoyed this fleeting “visit”.

  3. fredrieka June 26, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    beautiful

  4. Marko June 28, 2016 / 12:28 am

    Hello

    I wish you a wonderful new week.

  5. restlessjo June 28, 2016 / 4:34 pm

    I like the best you could do 🙂 And I love those ‘wasted’ tulips, and I rather like your account too, Sam. I’ve never been to St. Andrews but I know that it’s lovely. Shame about the squirrels- never there when you want them 🙂 Memories of St. Jame’s Park in London and one almost running over my foot. (and Lazienki in Warsaw- for Meg 🙂 )

    • twoblackdoggies June 30, 2016 / 1:48 pm

      Thanks Jo, so glad you enjoyed the garden and St Andrews is quite lovely with a wonderful cafe called Luvians, they serve great coffee and yummy ice cream. I lucked out with furry creatures, no up close interactions with Highland Cows either. Thank heavens for the abundant bird life, I did enjoy that 🙂

Thank you for your comment, if you don't want to be notified of following comments on this post, please uncheck the Notify option below.